We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh & Tender Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's

Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's
225 Boylston Street, Newton, MA 02467
617-332-1998
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 232 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tender Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I always share their perfect sushi/sashimi platter for two. The meal begins with hot towels and green tea if you request it. Their salad has real greens, no iceberg, delicately dressed. Miso soup follows. The ample platter is beautifully presented with a lovely orchid (just to look at) and two oba leaves (no plastic!) to wrap around sashimi. We have never had an off or tough bite of fish. So fresh, we remind ourselves to shut up, slow down and savor; warm sake helps with that endeavor. The servers seem to just appear when needed. Good way to connect with an old friend. We always leave happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Boston-area favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I LOVE this place. I have been here 4 times now, and have had consistently delicious sushi. It is so pretty and tranquil, and the food and staff are great. I believe that fresh fish should be a given at any sushi restaurant, and they definitely do a great job in that department. What I think makes them better than other places around is that their sushi rice is more flavorful and vinegar-y than most places, not at all flat or tasteless. I could eat here every day of the week.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Daikanyama food quality varies from time to time and is generally overpriced. Service is very poor, with unfriendly wait staff, they never, ever smile. Not a good place for a business lunch as they take tooooo long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Stellar sushi in Newton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The dishes are presented beautifully, and service is very attentive at this posh yet family friendly spot. The decor is beautiful and clean. We love going there. It's on the pricey side, but worth it. It is not really in Bloomingdales, and feels like a standalone that has one entrance to the parking lot, and another into the dept. store.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Sat at the sushi bar and had great sushi. I tried my standard sushi, maguro, saba, hamachi, sake, tamago and toro. All were great. The toro was a bit expensive, @$20 probably would not order again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's also viewed

 

Been to Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.