We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Village B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Village B&B
Save
You added A Village B&B to your Saves list
69 Columbus Street, Newton, MA 02461   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed with Claudia at her beautiful home while visiting our daughter at Boston College.
It was amazing. We were visiting the 'States for our first time and our experience at A Village Bed and Breakfast exemplified how welcoming American's are.
We enjoyed the local shops and restaurants, but also the convenience of the T station for further afield exploring.
The shared breakfast's were great, full of variety of fruits, buns etc. The contact with other guests was enjoyable and interesting.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
36
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I absolutely can’t say enough good things about A Village Bed & Breakfast. Everything – from its centralized location to the comfy and beautiful rooms to the delicious customized breakfast -- is truly unparalleled.

I live in Los Angeles and needed to visit family in the Boston area. I located A Village Bed & Breakfast online. Its competitive rates and centralized location attracted me, but little did I know what a gem this beautiful place really is. The house is traditional yet modern, extremely clean and well-kept. My suite was gorgeous, with a huge bathroom, comfortable bed, widescreen TV and total privacy. The living room and dining room are so welcoming – it truly felt that I was coming home every night. Loved the convenient parking in the driveway and beautiful deck as well.

Equally impressive was the breakfast every morning. The host, Claudia Jacobs, has a checklist that guests fill out upon arrival of their favorite foods, and then serves them fresh every morning. Everything was yummy, with lots to choose from, from healthy yogurts to decadent muffins. I am a coffee fanatic, and Claudia gladly made me two pots of coffee.

I loved love loved the fact that A Village Bed & Breakfast is located one block from the T stop in a very safe and fashionable area of Newton Highlands. I went into the city several times, and Claudia was very helpful with directions and suggestions.

I had a wonderful time at this B & B, met some terrific people, and will continue to visit for years to come. Without a doubt, this outstanding experience stems from the dedication and professionalism of the owner. Claudia is truly customer-centered and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suite is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and restful. Our rooms were equipped with all necessities, comfortable linens, and quiet solitude. Claudia was so helpful with all of our travel questions. She made sure our trip to Boston was pleasant and memorable. The breakfast was delicious and varied. Her B&B was very clean and inviting. We'd love to return to the Village B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I would highly recommend A Village B&B. It was a lovely and inviting place to stay. Our breakfast was delicious with a nice variety to choose from. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Claudia, our hostess, went above and beyond in every way to help make our stay the best that it could possibly be!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This B&B is a great alternative to downtown Boston hotels. We stayed in the upstairs suite and we were very satisfied with our accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised by the set up of the rooms. The living room/kitchen is separate from the bedroom. You have the entire third floor to yourselves, so it is very private. The rooms were immaculately clean and very comfortably furnished.
The breakfasts consisted of homemade baked goods, yogurt, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals (including a homemade granola that was just perfect), juice and coffee. The home is in a very quiet neighbourhood, just a bit more than a block from the train into Boston. Our ride to Fenway Park took us twenty minutes.
Thank you, Claudia, for your graciousness. It was a pleasure staying at your home and we would love to come back someday soon!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite is worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Really good breakfast with a huge variety of things. Fresh organic fruits and scones and everything. Super comfortable bed and linen. Very comfy. Claudia was very helpful and courteous. We had a lovely time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moretown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Convenient to public transportation and walking distance to restaurants. Clean, comfortable and cozy.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Village B&B

Address: 69 Columbus Street, Newton, MA 02461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Village B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.