We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to Sudbury/Wayland area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Local

The Local
1391 Washington St, West Newton, Newton, MA 02465-2003
617-340-2160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 228 Restaurants in Newton
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great addition to Sudbury/Wayland area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice addition to area, fair prices. good service and food is very good. will probably be a regular here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went for a work lunch. They were able to accommodate a large party efficiently. The flatbread truffle pizza was rich and very tasty. Everyone seemed to be satisfied. I would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific neighborhood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been to the Local several times and always enjoy going back. They have some local and regional beers as well as the usual, in two sizes. A couple of TV's are showing the game, but the sound is off, so they don't interfere with conversation. We often share orders here, and the kitchen splits both burgers and salads onto individual plates, which is a wonderful service. On the most recent visit we had a garlic mushroom "flatbread", which was really a generous thin-crust pizza. Fabulous. We also enjoyed the corn bacon chowder, which featured fresh corn and, unlike most restaurant soup, wasn't too salty for me, just well-seasoned. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Uneven experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'd been impressed on my last couple of visits to The Local, but was disappointed this time around. The food was overall pretty good - my chicken Milanese with potato and braised kale was tasty, and my friend liked both the scallop appetizer and corn/bacon chowder. The service was a little erratic and rushed, though, and the noise level pretty high, so it didn't make for a relaxing dinner. I thought the price was fairly reasonable, until I noticed they charged $4 for a cup of tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food and service for a suburban location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family had dinner at The Local in West Newton, Massachusetts early on a recent Sunday evening. The unprepossessing location did not prepare us for the quality of the food. The ingredients were fresh and they were prepared in creative ways. Service was prompt and efficient. The Local may be hard to find and parking is limited on the street but it is worth going out of your way to find. We plan on returning often and visiting their planned location in Wayland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.