We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gastro-pub lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Local

The Local
1391 Washington St, West Newton, Newton, MA 02465-2003
617-340-2160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 203 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent gastro-pub lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Several coworkers and I had an excellent lunch here a few weeks ago. Service was prompt and professional, and our waitress provided a great overview of the beer selection. We were thoroughly impressed by the food. I had the burger with truffle fries, which was simply divine. Perfectly cooked burger, really flavorful meat, and awesome fries. While it was hard to return to work afterwards, I definitely want to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Local Hero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Local is a favorite of ours--when we can get a table. The menu is short, the food is consistently well executed, and they pour a nice glass of wine. The small pizzas, the mussels (in cream and mustard or wine and tomatoes), the salads, and the noodle dishes are reliable choices and well priced. Only drawback here is that it's always--and I mean always--packed on weekends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charging for Additional Basket of Bread? Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First, we came by around 6:30 and there were no tables to be had (for a party of six...no reservations taken either). We waited for a table until 8:00. Bread was brought to the table (six slices of regular white Italian bread) and we asked to have another basket (we were hungry). Bread came and we ordered our drinks. Drinks came and we ordered our food and asked for another basket of bread. Our server came back and told us if we wanted it, $2.95 would be added to our total bill (I do not fault the server...she told us prior to it appearing on the bill, I blame management). We got our food and it was okay. We live in the area and have not been back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Times, Good Food for Everyone at the Table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a happening place! It's like a combo bistro and pub, with tons of people milling about the bar and the rest seated on the other side of the space at casually-set tables. There is some kind of food for everyone as witnessed by the varied crowd, ranging from couples, families and the ladies-nite-out crowd.

Our waiter could not have been more cordial or enthusiastic about the food. (N.B. Chef!) Panko chicken delicious, steak tips moist and flavorful. Try the truffle parmesan fries. Casual, tasty food, good-time vibe. We'll be back, but probably on the very early or rather later side as there is almost always a wait here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great diversity of patrons creates a lively atmosphere. The food quality is great and the service is attentive and focused. This is a "go to" local spot run by succesful owners and maangement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.