We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Lane Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Park Lane Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
11 Park Lane, Newton, MA 02459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and highly recommend it. The house is comfortable and the location is great, within walking distance to Newton Centre and the "T." We fueled up with breakfast from an array of options--cereal, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, fruit, and homemade bread. Most importantly, Jim and Patti could not be friendlier or more helpful hosts. We were house-hunting prior to a move to the Boston area and they not only gave us an overview of the surrounding communities but shared maps, referred us to realtors, and loaned us umbrellas and a measuring tape for our Open House visits. We also enjoyed meeting and chatting with other guests. We talked educational theory with some folks who came from Europe for a conference and swapped photos of the house on which we made an offer with photos of the new grandchild another couple had come to see--much more fun than coming back to an empty hotel room! Park Lane B & B is a great choice if you want to stay in a residential area and get tips on how to enjoy your stay in Bean-town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
25
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The B&B is a beautiful house in a wonderful neighborhood. Also, when we explained that we were in town looking for an apartment, they took the time to discuss our options and give us advice based on their own experience in real estate - very helpful!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Planned to book a stay at Park Lane B&B with Jim & Patti while my college-aged daughter searched for employment for a summer stint in Boston. To my disappointment, there was no room available , but Patti proved very helpful and went out of her way to find us other B&B accomodations nearby. In fact, she managed to find a B&B which was even closer to the location of my daughter's summer apt. rental where she is hoping to find a nearby job. Despite the fact that she would not profit from the time spent helping me, Patti was patient, friendly, and helpful. Hope they have a room available the next time I travel to Boston!

Room Tip: Be sure to book early as this is a popular B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I want to start by thanking our gracious hosts Patti and Jim who were exceptionally warm and accommodating. We felt welcomed and at home from the moment we arrived in this beautiful B&B.Park Lane Bed and Breakfast is a rare find and deal in many ways; it is close to so many good restaurants and other attractions, yet it is quite and peaceful. It is comfortable,clean,safe and and yes the price is right.I am very happy with our stay at Park Lane B&B and would go there again without any hesitation. And I have to say the breakfast was excellent. And thank you Patti for the grab n go breakfast bag you prepared on our last day, your cake was delicious! Absolutely 5 star B&B and hosts. You are the best! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: the rooms are lovely, cozy and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed with Jim & Patti while looking for an apt. for our daughter who is starting grad school in Jan. After finding out the apts. we were to look at were far from the college, Jim & Patti provided names and phone numbers of realtors in the area, along with a tip on a vacant apt. Thanks to their help, we found an apt. that day. Jim and Patti are a wealth of information on the Boston area-from providing maps, to info on the transit system, restaurants, shopping, tourist areas. We felt at home, the hospitality was unbeatable, the breakfasts were great-loved the homemade breads! Thanks again for all your help, we will be staying with you again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Jim&Patti's B&B for a a week for a training course (from work). The reason I chose the B&B instead of a big hotel chain was the ideal location to get to the training center without having to use a car. I must say that it was definitely the right decision. From day 1 the hosts made me feel very welcome - as if I was a member of the family. The B&B is very clean and very quiet at night and the breakfast was excellent with fresh fruits and freshly baked bread served every morning. The neighbourhood is very pretty and I felt safe to walk anywhere at any time. The next T station is on a 10 minute walk and Newton center with a variety of restaurants is very close by.
Something that you don't get at many places is the fact that Jim and Patti are very open towards their guests, happily share any visitor/sightseeing insider tips for Boston with you, give you immediate dining out tips for the near vicinity and they are just there to give you any help that you require. Absolutely 5 star B&B and hosts. I am looking forward to returning to Park Lane B&B one day. Thank you very much to you both!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent a beautiful week at the Park Lane during a meditation retreat. The room was simple and lovely, breakfast really yummy with wonderful chats!
We left our special traveling pillows behind accidentally, and they were well cared for and delivered by another guest!

We will definitely be going back.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Park Lane, Newton, MA 02459
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.