We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Not to Miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast
11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Massage Therapy Special
Ranked #3 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B Not to Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Charming 19th century home, lovingly modernized. Location superb: easy walk to T into Boston, to a bookstore, to your choice of many restaurants. Ellen and Craig, your hosts, are friendly, helpful and discrete. Excellent mattress, thick towels, tasteful carpets, comfortable breakfast area. This is not the Marriott; I'm returning in 2014!
Jim R, AZ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
19
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Chelsey Rd. with Craig and Ellen. This was our third stay and we will be happy to stay again. The house is absolutely beautiful, especially in the summer when you can enjoy sitting on the newly fitted out deck. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are not en suite, but our room was thoughtfully stocked with wonderful fluffy bathrobes for the short journey across the hall.

Location: Only three blocks to the MBTA Green-line (D line) Newton Center station. Or a couple of blocks to Newton Center where you can find food, coffee and shopping, yet the B&B is situated on a residential street with very little traffic. Perfect blend of convenience and solitude. There is off-street parking as well if needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Manager at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much! We were thrilled to be able to host you again. We wish you great success, and should you be up this way, we would so enjoy hearing updates on your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The house/building has been remodeled/renovated to the point of being like a museum - it is gorgeous! The rooms are very nice and homey, and the shared bathroom isn't too much of an inconvenience (granted, it IS a B&B, ha). Newton is a wonderful place (if you like the Boston-area) with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. However, there were shortfalls, including:
1) The young woman in charge is a grad student who was very busy and always anxious, making for an unorganized and (at times) awkward household.
2) The breakfast was very small and not very good (compared to other B&Bs in the area) with horrible/cheap coffee offered.
3) Upon booking the room we were told to pay with cash or travelers checks. First, who pays for a room costing a few hundred dollars in cash? And second, who even uses travelers checks any more? Ellen scoffed when we tried to pay with our credit card, saying she didn't want to pay the service fee. Um, hello, you're a B&B - which is pretty similar to a hotel - thus you must be prepared for people paying with credit cards! Frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Manager at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are always grateful for constructive criticism and thank this guest for taking the time to do so. We are sorry that they did not enjoy breakfast - we always provide fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses, jams, breads, juice and hot drinks. Our license does not allow us to cook, and so maybe this guest was unprepared for that. We provide the guests the same coffee that we drink, and that many people have complemented us on. If they needed it stronger, or needed something else to accommodate them, it would have been helpful to let us know at the time of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for the 2013 Boston Marathon, and had a fantastic experience. First, the location is perfect for those of us who do not want to bother with a rental car. The house is about a 5 minute walk from the Newton Centre T stop, and it was so simple to hop on the T with our bags from South Station and get here. Next, the house is really nice and has that historic feel that we really appreciate. There are some fantastic restaurants and shopping within a 5 minute walk, and it is only 3/10 of a mile from the base of Heartbreak Hill (for you runners out there). The room was simple, with a queen bed and shared bathroom (I think there are 3 rooms total that they rent out), but everything was functional and very comfortable. Finally, the hosts were wonderful. They communicated with us beforehand regarding the time of our arrival, had everything ready when we got there, asked many many time if there was anything more they could do for us, then went the extra mile to let us return rather late in the day on the day of our departure so that we could shower after the marathon. While we were showering, the bomb blasts went off, and they were amazingly kind and generous, and offered to not only let us stay with them, but also helped us navigate a way through the mayhem back to South Station where we needed to catch our bus back to the Manchester airport. Even after we left, Ellen texted me several times about the whereabouts of the other guests who were at the marathon (and luckily were unhurt). I just want to again thank the hosts for their amazing generosity. We won't forget this weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

In a very cold period with a real blizzard raging outside, we stayed for over a week in The Chesley Road Bread & Breakfast of Ellen and Graig. The weather outside with its low temperature was a complete contrast with the warmth and welcoming hospitality of Ellen, Craig and Annette and the comfort of their home. We travelled from the Netherlands to Newton and we were both amazed by their friendliness.
The B&B is situated in their lovely and beautiful Victorian house. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy as is the bathroom.
The location of their B&B is excellent. The T as a means of public transport and all the nice restaurants of Newton are just a stone’s throw away.
We look forward to returning to their B&B when we return for another visit to Newton.
Roeland and Liesbeth

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We loved having you with us, and hope that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pownal, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I travel to the area fairly regularly and Chesley Rd. B&B wins hands down for lodging. The house is stunningly beautiful, the beds are cozy, the hosts are helpful, flexible, warm and welcoming, the parking is a breeze, and the house is only a couple of blocks from a downtown offering wonderful restaurant diversity and quality. And if that isn't enough, Boston is a short "T" ride away. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you! We are looking forward to seeing you this Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Chesley Road B&B. Ellen and Craig were very welcoming....we were minutes from Boston and our college visit at Northeastern. We also enjoyed the fun vibe of the Newton Square neighborhood which is a short walk down the street.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesley Road B&B is a 160 year old beautifully restored Victorian, set in a magnificent neighborhood of unusual homes. Convenient to Newton Centre's restaurants and stores. Easy access to Boston via the T. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chesley Road b&b
Chesley Road Hotel Newton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list