We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and a perfect location for those traveling without a car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast
11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Massage Therapy Special
Ranked #3 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place and a perfect location for those traveling without a car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for the 2013 Boston Marathon, and had a fantastic experience. First, the location is perfect for those of us who do not want to bother with a rental car. The house is about a 5 minute walk from the Newton Centre T stop, and it was so simple to hop on the T with our bags from South Station and get here. Next, the house is really nice and has that historic feel that we really appreciate. There are some fantastic restaurants and shopping within a 5 minute walk, and it is only 3/10 of a mile from the base of Heartbreak Hill (for you runners out there). The room was simple, with a queen bed and shared bathroom (I think there are 3 rooms total that they rent out), but everything was functional and very comfortable. Finally, the hosts were wonderful. They communicated with us beforehand regarding the time of our arrival, had everything ready when we got there, asked many many time if there was anything more they could do for us, then went the extra mile to let us return rather late in the day on the day of our departure so that we could shower after the marathon. While we were showering, the bomb blasts went off, and they were amazingly kind and generous, and offered to not only let us stay with them, but also helped us navigate a way through the mayhem back to South Station where we needed to catch our bus back to the Manchester airport. Even after we left, Ellen texted me several times about the whereabouts of the other guests who were at the marathon (and luckily were unhurt). I just want to again thank the hosts for their amazing generosity. We won't forget this weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
19
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

In a very cold period with a real blizzard raging outside, we stayed for over a week in The Chesley Road Bread & Breakfast of Ellen and Graig. The weather outside with its low temperature was a complete contrast with the warmth and welcoming hospitality of Ellen, Craig and Annette and the comfort of their home. We travelled from the Netherlands to Newton and we were both amazed by their friendliness.
The B&B is situated in their lovely and beautiful Victorian house. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy as is the bathroom.
The location of their B&B is excellent. The T as a means of public transport and all the nice restaurants of Newton are just a stone’s throw away.
We look forward to returning to their B&B when we return for another visit to Newton.
Roeland and Liesbeth

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We loved having you with us, and hope that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pownal, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I travel to the area fairly regularly and Chesley Rd. B&B wins hands down for lodging. The house is stunningly beautiful, the beds are cozy, the hosts are helpful, flexible, warm and welcoming, the parking is a breeze, and the house is only a couple of blocks from a downtown offering wonderful restaurant diversity and quality. And if that isn't enough, Boston is a short "T" ride away. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you! We are looking forward to seeing you this Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Chesley Road B&B. Ellen and Craig were very welcoming....we were minutes from Boston and our college visit at Northeastern. We also enjoyed the fun vibe of the Newton Square neighborhood which is a short walk down the street.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our hosts Ellen and Craig were welcoming and their home is a beautifully-restored gem just outside Boston's city center. The T is a short walk away and we were at the Fenway stop in only 20 minutes. The neighborhood of Newton Centre is just around the block and a destination in itself with copious restaurants and unique shops. This is a great find for us and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks! We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I had a comfortable and friendly stay at Chesley Road B&B. Ellen and Craig welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Walking two blocks to the Newton Centre T station, we were able to get quickly into Boston to see friends and easily back for a late dinner in Newton.

Room Tip: The Queen Room has its own porch -- a treat in the evening of a hot summer day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed having you, and hope you will think of us again when you come to stay in Newton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

In short, this place is very neat and the owners were so nice to me. The neighborhood is beautiful and safe. Restaurants, cafes, banks, pharmacies are in a walking distance. The subway is less than five minutes walking. There is an astonishing porche where you can sit and relax. Regardless of the home, Craig and Ellen (owners) have a high sense of humour and I had healthy discussions with both of them.

Overall, I had the pleasure to stay with Ellen and Craig and I would highly recommend this B&B.

Abdul,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesley Road B&B is a 160 year old beautifully restored Victorian, set in a magnificent neighborhood of unusual homes. Convenient to Newton Centre's restaurants and stores. Easy access to Boston via the T. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chesley Road b&b
Chesley Road Hotel Newton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list