We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay on Chesley Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Super Stay on Chesley Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Chesley Road B&B. Ellen and Craig were very welcoming....we were minutes from Boston and our college visit at Northeastern. We also enjoyed the fun vibe of the Newton Square neighborhood which is a short walk down the street.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
22
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our hosts Ellen and Craig were welcoming and their home is a beautifully-restored gem just outside Boston's city center. The T is a short walk away and we were at the Fenway stop in only 20 minutes. The neighborhood of Newton Centre is just around the block and a destination in itself with copious restaurants and unique shops. This is a great find for us and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks! We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I had a comfortable and friendly stay at Chesley Road B&B. Ellen and Craig welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Walking two blocks to the Newton Centre T station, we were able to get quickly into Boston to see friends and easily back for a late dinner in Newton.

Room Tip: The Queen Room has its own porch -- a treat in the evening of a hot summer day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaineSilver, Owner at Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed having you, and hope you will think of us again when you come to stay in Newton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

In short, this place is very neat and the owners were so nice to me. The neighborhood is beautiful and safe. Restaurants, cafes, banks, pharmacies are in a walking distance. The subway is less than five minutes walking. There is an astonishing porche where you can sit and relax. Regardless of the home, Craig and Ellen (owners) have a high sense of humour and I had healthy discussions with both of them.

Overall, I had the pleasure to stay with Ellen and Craig and I would highly recommend this B&B.

Abdul,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We tend to travel without making hotel arrangements until we arrive; fun but slightly stressful :). We originally looked to stay at Park Lane B&B, but they were sold out. Instead they offered to refer me to Chesley Rd. It was a very casual booking and we actually never talked to Ellen until we arrived (Park Ln made the arrangements). When we arrived, we were greeted at the porch by their HUGE black and white cat. Sweet and friendly. Then I turned and saw their orange cat with something in its mouth. The cat dropped it and it turned out to be a baby bunny! Coming from LA, I assumed it dropped a chew toy. Good thing the bunny was still fine and just hopped away. So the cats were amusing!
The house itself is very clean and not cluttered like some other B&Bs we've stayed at. There's no particular "look" and signs were casual (just printed out on computer paper). The room we stayed in included a beautiful deck and the most comfy bed. It was a little cold, but there is a plug in heater and you can request to Ellen to have the room heat turned on. Nothing special about the bathroom; plenty of leftover sample shampoos from past guests. It was very much like staying at a friends house, not perfect but neat. Breakfast was self serve - bread, fruit, juice, cereal, and the tv room and sitting room were shared with the daughters and the two cats. Beware - the cats are VERY friendly. Will just hop on your lap and meow for attention.
The inn is walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants, so there is plenty to do during the day. A little quiet at night.
I'm not sure if they even have a website, but you can call 617-527-5793 for a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I would recommend this B&B to anyone who needs a nice and nurturing place in the Boston suburbs. Ellen and Craig are cordial and hospitable and do everything to make your visit as pleasant as possible. Their beautiful remodeled home is easy access to the T and lots of nice neighborhood shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have stayed at the Chesley Road Bed & Breakfast at least 4 times over the past few years and have always enjoyed a warm, comfortable stay. With this last trip, I figure I should write a review, as this elegant rambling Victorian has undergone some amazing construction and is really worth talking about! Ellen and Craig, the hospitable owners, open their beautiful home to a just a few folks at a time (one wing of the house) and couldn't be more accomodating and laid-back hosts. I always feel that I am truly a guest in a real home, not some over-priced hotel or fancy-lacy inn. The guest rooms are clean and charming and they also have lovely commom areas where I feel completely welcome and at home. When the weather is right, the large porches, now finishing renovation, offered me a great place to relax. This is a lovely Victorian B&B --near Boston, colleges, highways, and a short walk to Newton Center-- with charm and helpful, hospitable hosts! I definately will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Chesley Road, Newton, MA 02459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesley Road B&B is a 160 year old beautifully restored Victorian, set in a magnificent neighborhood of unusual homes. Convenient to Newton Centre's restaurants and stores. Easy access to Boston via the T. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chesley Road Hotel Newton
Chesley Road b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.