We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre, aside from the great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essex Street Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Essex Street Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Massachusetts
1 review
“Very mediocre, aside from the great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the Essex Street Inn for 2 nights. We tried to stay for both nights in the same room, but because we had first booked one night and then added another night a few hours after the first reservation, they were unable (or unwilling ) to accommodate us.The first night we stayed in an upstairs room in a side building. The room was adequate, but the quilt seemed very tired and dated, and the towels were atrocious ! They were threadbare, thin,small, and felt like sandpaper.We spent the second night in a room on the first floor, right near the main front door. While the room was larger and nicer, the noise was extremely annoying, both inside and outside of the hotel. What was especially irritating about this, was that the staff had argued with me when i said that I was concerned that the room might be too noisy ! The buffet breakfast was poor quality, everything on paper, minimal fruit that was not fresh. Also, the hotel really has no common space, aside from the tiny unappealing breakfast room. The best thing about the hotel was it's location, convenient to everything in Newburyport.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    29
    5
    13
See reviews for
27
116
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The beds are ok, but not wonderfully comfortable. The pillows are hard foam, so if you like soft pillows, or feather pillows, bring your own.
The window blinds are the cheapest you can buy and let in lots of morning light.
The breakfast is not very good - about what you would expect from one of those chains on the interstate highways.
But the location is really good. Newburyport is a wonderful town and worth a visit.
Not very cozy or quaint. Definitely not elegant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel is in a great location - a quiet side street just off the main drag in Newburyport. You are steps from all the shops and restaurants. This place has the potential to be fabulous but needs some updating to get there. Our room was missing some of the thoughtful touches that make for a great stay. There were no hooks in the bathroom to hang a robe or bag for toiletries. Also, the pedestal sink is attractive, but that and the small shelf did not offer enough room for supplies. The one closet was tiny and did not have clip hangers for skirts, etc. There wasn't an iron or ironing board in the room. You have to request them at the front desk. Our room was on the first floor and while it was surprisingly quiet, you had to keep the blinds closed to have any sort of privacy. Shutters or top down blinds would be nicer so that you could have privacy and daylight. One drawer was missing a handle. The bath towels were really small and the complimentary toiletries were low-end. On the plus side, there was a nice, modern floorboard-style air conditioner that was powerful and easy to use. There is convenient parking behind the hotel. The bedding was pretty nice and the bed was comfortable. The room and bath were both on the smaller side but not tiny. There was a small desk and chair and a wing chair as well. I would probably stay there again as the location was perfect but I hope they take the notes I left on my comment card to heart.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

First time staying in Newbuiryport, and after sifting through mixed reviews on every inn, B&B, and hotel there (not a consistent conclusion on any property), I decided to just go with the Essex Street Inn. I contacted them directly, they were very responsive and helpful, and booked me a room along with flowers and chocolates right away.
Upon arrival, we found street parking (not a lot of it due to snowy conditions), and went in. We were informed that we had been upgraded, most likely because it was empty and they were very gracious, to a duplex suite. It was awesome: fireplace, whirpool bath tub, two bathrooms, comfy living room and bed room. My lady friend was very impressed and never wanted to leave. She was seriously considering asking how much the duplex would cost to live in full time.
We didn't have breakfast there, but can recommend Fowle's right around the corner. Essex Street Inn is in close proximity to all Newburyport has to offer- super convenient.
Overall, great experience, and will definitely go back next time I'm in Newburyport.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Mass
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My wife and I have been going to the Essex Street Inn for 11 years now. Downtown Newburyport hosts a Christmas Stroll every year, and the Inn is in perfect proximity to all the activity. While the Inn has always been a terrific getaway, it was taken over a few years ago by Lori Guertin and her husband, and they have taken the business to new levels. Their commitment to excellence and service is immediately evident upon arrival, and will remain visible throughout your stay. I would highly recommend it as a getaway destination, even if you don't live far away. We live only 25 minutes south, but when we stay at the Inn, we feel like we're a million miles away.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

I have stayed at the Essex Street Inn twice now and being in the industry I am a always a critic. Both times I have loved the service and staff I have received from the time I make my reservation to the time I check out. The staff is lovely and very attentive.

If you are looking for a place to go for a romantic getaway, this is the place to go, fireplace, jacuzzi tub and great service.

I will be back Very Soon.

  • Liked — Staff and Guest Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We had a relaxing, enjoyable stay at the lovely Essex Street Inn. Our room was large, very clean, and comfortable. The fireplace and whirlpool tub were nice touches. For a continental breakfast, there was a nice variety of choices. The location is convenient, and the rates are very reasonable. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Checking in
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Essex Street Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Street Inn is a stunning, comfortable Inn. The Inn is "Historic Newburyport's only downtown lodging". The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access including the only "Floating Cottage " in newburyport. A lovely Breakfast Room offers fresh teas and coffees, Continental Breakfast and several newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Street Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.