We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essex Street Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Essex Street Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Enfield, NH
1 review
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We love the Essex Street Inn and have come back every year since we discovered it. The location is ideal- you step outside the Inn and are only a few feet away from the main street with shops and restaurants, and only a short walk away from the boardwalk and waterfront. We've stayed in many different rooms, but our favorite is the two floor suite with the private roof deck and jacuzzi, which has worked great for our family of three, and has also worked well as headquarters for our family reunion this year (with 12 of us staying in different rooms at the Inn). The breakfast and coffee/tea options are a terrific way to start the day (& it is so nice not to have to make reservations or line up at one of the local restaurants every morning of our stay). The manager and staff have been wonderful and welcoming every year. We love this Inn and Newburyport and will keep coming back as often as we can in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    29
    5
    13
See reviews for
27
116
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mt Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Bridal Suite which is on the 2nd floor with extremely steep stairs. It was a nice 2 room suite with a fireplace and balcony. The kitchen was new, all windows opened in the suite for great cross breezes, and there was a nice bathroom with Jacuzzi. The living room couch was soft and WIFI connection poor. Minor issues from our point of view.

The Inn is close to shopping, great restaurants, Joppa Flats Audubon Center, the Parker River Refuge, and much more. It’s a great location.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to Bridal Suite might be an issue for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I wanted a short weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary without the children and love Newburyport. It's not too far from home but the accomadations and staff at the Inn made us feel as though we were truly on vacation. We stayed in one of their townhouse suites in the grey building, I think it was the Captain Kettle House. It had a whirlpool tub, which was obviously nice, but the best part for us was the private roof deck that overlooks the town. The wife and I really enjoyed sitting out there and enjoying the view at sunset. The Inn is also in a great location for walking around town and visiting the shops and sitting outside at one of the restaraunts. We didn't even need our car while there! The buildings and decor are really beautiful and the staff was wonderful! Check-in was a breeze and the breakfast was delicious! If we can get away again in the future we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful time and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

When my husband and I pulled up to the Essex Street Inn, we were thrilled with its location, which was about 50 ft to State Street's restaurants and shops, but still in a very quiet area. The street itself is gorgeous, and the three buildings that comprise the inn are very appealing from the outside.

Upon arrival, we asked for two keys in the event that one of us got up early and wanted to go out for a bit. Because the outside doors are locked, there's no way to even get in to knock on the door. They couldn't find another key, so that was a bit of an inconvenience.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which is a two-floor spacious suite, comprised of a bedroom, two bathrooms, a jacuzzi tub, living room area, and a roofdeck. My first impression is that it was absolutely immaculate. I mean, not a speck of dust anywhere, not even on the moulding. That was awesome. The fireplace that you could turn on with the flip of a switch was also a great touch.

That said, it could've been maintained better. The cheap MDF shelves in each bathroom were chipped and falling apart. Had they been made of actual wood, they might've passed for shabby chic, but these were shabby cheap. The shower stalls were also pretty cheap - for $300/night, you'd think they'd have tile, but these were small plastic shower inserts. Again, though, impeccably clean. The kitchen could've also used some new caulking and other general maintenance. The door to the roofdeck didn't lock, and the roofdeck itself didn't have any chairs, just a table. The locking thing was a little disconcerting, since the roofdeck was accessible from another room's roofdeck. We told the person at the check-in about the deck but he said he couldn't help us since he "wasn't a locksmith." The TV in the upstairs bedroom was at least 15 years old, but we weren't there to watch TV, so not a huge deal.

Continental breakfast is just that: fruit, store-bought bagels and muffins, juice, and coffee. It would've been nice if more had been offered, but we went to Angie's Food for breakfast, which was spectacular.

If this room were $150 or $200/night, I probably wouldn't have expected it to be perfect, but for over $300/night (with tax), it should have been. Seems to me that they could use a manager whose forte is attention to detail. They wouldn't have to spend much money to perfect this room.

Room Tip: Location is perfect. Honeymoon suite could comfortably sleep four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you to this guest for there stay and taking the time to post this review. In response the building containing the honeymoon suite was referbished in 2007 and we do emergency maintanience as needed. However little paint touch ups and other small details are done during our off season.
We do apologize that we did not have an extra key at the time of your stay. We do try to keep spares and can make some as needed. I do apologize for the gentleman who told you he was "not a locksmith". As the manager on the property and on call almost everyday he should have contacted me or another member of our management staff who may have been covering right away so that we could have atleast had another set of keys made the next morning.
While we understand this reviewers concern in regards to the door to the deck does not locking. We have this set up to prevent our guests accidently locking themselves out. In the 7 years that I have been here and the 5 years that we have had these suites there has NEVER been any incidents. The roof deck should have 4 chairs with the table. I will look into this right away and find out why they were missing.
The televisions were purchased brand new when we opened this building 5 years ago and work great.
Our breakfast is self serve continental style and we do have our items delivered fresh from a local wholesale company twice a week. We are glad you went to Angie's which we highly reccomend .
Thank you,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a mini-getaway and we love Newburyport, so we stayed at the Inn for an evening. It was a much-needed break from everyday life, and we enjoyed the peacefulness of the room. To be able to lie back and enjoy the jacuzzi and not worry about a thing left us feeling totally refreshed. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and the breakfast accomodations were perfect, and felt more like staying with close family than visiting a business establishment. All of the staff we spoke with were frriendly and welcoming. We would (and will) highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Newburyport has to be onebif the best weekend getaways I have ever experienced and it's less than an hours drive from Boston. This hotel, although not contemporary, is perfect because it's in the heart of Newburyport and you can walk to everything. We paid a bit more for a suite and it was worth it because it included a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The one downfall is the noise. We were woken up by off property construction but it didn't really bother us since we were excited to get to the beach on plum island.
It's not the ritz but it truly is the perfect spot for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review and being our guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We recently spent one night in the Essex Street Inn which is perfectly siutated to enjoy the picturesque town and waterfront. We stayed in a "standard" room number 106 which should read "substandard". The furnture appeared to come from a thrift shop, only 1 chair, 1 bed side table and lamp, uncomfortable creaky bed and only 1 pillow each.
The bathroom was so small that only 1 person could be in there at a time, a toilet seat that was loose and blistered. Nowhere to put your wash bag except the toilet seat or cystern and very small shelf that was chipped and peeling. A cheap, plastic trayed shower cubicle so small that the shower curtain stuck to you while you were showering under a loose shower head. Cracked tiles on the floor and mildewed silicon completed the picture with a TINY wardrobe in the bathroom with plastic hangers.
Other highlights were the ancient TV that was propped up by pieces of 2x4 and a lamp shade on the side table looked like it had been sat on by an elephant.
We only hope that the more expensive rooms fair better. We would expect more from any brad and breakfast establishment in this day and age.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Room 106 is located in the main building of our Inn. It is one of our most popular rooms as it is located in the front of the building where the sun shines thru the most. The furniture is an older style and some of which is original to the Inn itself. We do perform upgrades and maintence in all our rooms as needed. We are currently in the process of updating all our guestrooms and bathrooms in our main building.
We had other standard rooms available at the time of this guests stay and had she consulted the front desk with her dissafifactions we would have been more than happy to find her something more suitable.
Thank you,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Essex Street Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Street Inn is a stunning, comfortable Inn. The Inn is "Historic Newburyport's only downtown lodging". The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access including the only "Floating Cottage " in newburyport. A lovely Breakfast Room offers fresh teas and coffees, Continental Breakfast and several newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Street Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.