We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essex Street Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Essex Street Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The place has a definite charm and it located in a prefect place that is a walking distance to anywhere in town. Reception was very professional and things were very smooth.
The room (202) was very vary basic and I would recommend to spend some more and have a better room (shower is very small, no desk etc.). Breakfast was basic but nice and the coffee machine was great! I suggest adding an espresso machine as well.
I would stay there again but in a better room next time…..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    29
    5
    13
See reviews for
27
116
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Shore, Quebec
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Everything was great, down to the Keurig coffee machine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The historic appeal and setting were what drew us to this inn. It is located in the middle of town and allowed us to walk to shops and restaurants. The room was clean and a good size with locking outside doors to the building that gave a feeling of safety. The building was built in the 1700's and it was fun to stay in such an old building that was updated beautifully. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean as was the bathroom. The only con to this place was the breakfast, it was truly continental which seems kind of scant for a bed and breakfast. Overall, we would still recommend this inn !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I just have to say we stayed at the floating cottage (an extension of the Essex St Inn) on Friday night and it was amazing!! We brought our own food to cook in the full kitchen, had some friends over and laughed all night. It was quiet, super clean, so different and so much fun! You wake up to the water right out your window, can see boats go by, watch the sunset...where else can you get this? It is your own private cabin on the water! I would HIGHLY suggest anyone to try this! Life is good!!
Jenn M.

Thanks John!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

A very nice old inn in a great downtown spot. Easy parking and a very friendly staff are two of the many positives. Downtown area is all walkable from here, with many restaurants, shops,and nightlife nearby. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed here for a friend's wedding and overall we really enjoyed it. The room was fairly large, comfortable and clean, with the exception of being very cold and having no way to control the temperature. The shower was tiny but the rest of the bathroom was a good size. They are called a B&B but don't expect a hot breakfast- just bagels, pastries, some yogurt, fruit, etc. We were on the ground floor right next to reception and the breakfast room so it was quite noisy, but other friends said they couldn't hear a thing from other guests. Great location- easy to get to everything in town. The staff was exceptional.

Room Tip: ask for a room in one of the outer buildings- less foot traffic (lobby, reception & breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We booked the two floor honeymoon suite for two nights... it wasn't our honeymoon but it was the only room available at the time for four people. What a beautiful suite, two full bathrooms (one with jacuzzi) and a full kitchen, plus an outdoor deck off the top floor. The Inn is a half block away from Newburyport Center so we could easily walk to restaurants and shopping. They served a very nice continental breakfast of cereals, muffins, and pastries. Our only caution is that the sofa bed is very uncomfortable so don't plan on using it unless they've replaced the mattress. We would definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Essex Street Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Street Inn is a stunning, comfortable Inn. The Inn is "Historic Newburyport's only downtown lodging". The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access including the only "Floating Cottage " in newburyport. A lovely Breakfast Room offers fresh teas and coffees, Continental Breakfast and several newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Street Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.