We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Compass Rose Inn to your Saves list
Compass Rose Inn
5 1/2 Center Street, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Newburyport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We used to live in Newburyport and would often refer visitors to the Compass Rose as we had heard it was a very nice place to stay. We even had it booked for our wedding night but some guests were without a place to stay so we gave up our room. As we were planning our trip back to New England -having moved to Florida for business - we decided to finally stay to the Compass Rose - GREAT DECISION. From the time that we walked through the door and were greeted by Gloria, the whole process was extremely welcoming. The room was, as all the other reviews have said, large, well laid out and very comfortable. It is very centrally located with easy access to all that Newburyport has to offer. Another key factor is that it has easy parking - which may not seem like a big deal but in tight New England towns parking is at a premium. Breakfast was very good an served at a very elegant table.

In my opinion, The Compass Rose, is more than a Bed and Breakfast. Check-in is easy, service exceptional, warm and welcoming. In the winter, there are working fireplaces in each room for a romantic get-a-way in New England and Newburyport is a wonderful town to visit not far from Boston.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
72
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in August. The rooms are large and spacious - probably the largest room we have stayed in throughout our trip to New England. The service was attentive but not over bearing and breakfasts were excellent. With regards to the previous review that commented on parking - we had no problems - there are 2 spaces in front of the inn and a number behind. Our room was so comfortable one night we stayed in and watched a DVD which you can borrow from downstairs. Overall lovely stay and great town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a beautiful home. I will never stay in a hotel again. Gloria's hospitality was amazing. The rooms are so spacious and tastefully decorated. The beds were huge and very comfy. The bathrooms were so big and very very clean. The shower was large enough for two. It was very peaceful even though our room was on the first floor. We ventured through the Inn and found a wonderful widow's peak at the top with glass windows all around. The view was amazing. The location puts you with in walking distance of everything downtown. Very happy with everything and breakfast was deliciously created by Gloria's own cooking. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would lIke to express my gratitude on behalf of my husband and myself to both Gloria and Al for a wonderful four night stay at The Compass Rose Inn. I don't often find the time to write reviews but have made an exception because their B & B is worth a serious recommendation.
We came to Newburyport because our daughter waa taking part in a lacrosse camp nearby. We had come a long way (England) and arrived early at the Inn (check-in is 3pm) and this was no problem as our suite was ready (unlike some major hotels we have stayed in). Our suite really was perfect and believe you me I am very hard to please. Breakfast was served every morning at a large table where it was shared by all guests and was most enjoyable to listen to each others travels. Gloria even accommodated me with my gluten free diet. All in all, a perfect break for me and my husband and what a way to remember my 50th birthday which I celebrated on the day we arrived. Thank you, Gloria and Al.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two weekday nights at the Compass Rose Inn. Our expectations were pretty high given the reviews and we were not disappointed. From the minute you walk into the Inn you know that this is one great place. The suites were fantastic...large, clean, lots of light, nicely decorated, the A/C was great and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large, had beautiful fixtures and was very functional and clean. We were on the first floor and we could hear some noise above us (footsteps and plumbing) but it was minimal. We parked in the front of the Inn and given the central location never moved it while we were there. The breakfast was great...and Gloria even provided it to us on our departure day at an earlier time than usual to accommodate us. The location is phenomenal! Newburyport is a great walking town with lots of quaint shops, restaurants and bars (many with water views). We just had a great time and the Compass Rose Inn is a no-brainer if you like upscale lodging in a central location.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so keep that in mind if you have issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Compass Rose Inn in Newburyport, MA is simply a fantastic place to stay. Gloria, the innkeeper, is as warm and friendly a person as one can ask for, plus she makes a killer breakfast each morning. The Inn is immaculate and the rooms are gigantic with a full sitting area. The wood details and finishes throughout the house are impressive, as well as the huge windows overlooking the outdoor sitting area and street. The location of the Inn is great as you are close to the action in Newburyport as well as a few miles down the road from the beaches of Plum Island. We stayed here with some other couples we know for a wedding in town and we all had a wonderful experience. I definitely highly recommend to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A gorgeous property with lovely people. The rooms are large and private and the woodwork and finishes are beautiful. Gloria, the innkeeper, is extremely knowledgable and so helpful when we were looking for places to visit on our drive back towards Boston. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Inn

Address: 5 1/2 Center Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Newburyport, you'll find a hidden treasure called Compass Rose. This sophisticated all-suite Inn offers you the opportunity to relax and experience the character and historic charm of a picturesque New England town. Compass Rose is a newly constructed Federal style mansion incorporating period ambiance with state of the art comfort and safety. Our spacious accommodations include five elegant three-room suites; each with a fire placed sitting room, bedroom with king sized bed and a luxurious private bath and a dressing alcove. We offer a convenient first floor suite for our visitors who prefer not to use stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Compass Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Hotel Newburyport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.