We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Rose Inn

Save Saved
You added Compass Rose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compass Rose Inn
5 1/2 Center Street, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Newburyport B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Second Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Like staying with your well-to-do best friend who has excellent taste in renovating historic homes in noteworthy historic communities. And, all is up-to-date and tastefully done. Spend time admiring the woodwork and art! Great fresh breakfasts, with widely-traveled fellow guests. Parking is convenient too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
62
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I found this inn online after I had already planned my entire 9 day trip to New England. I was so impressed with the idea of the inn, I shortened another stay earlier in the week to allow for a one night stay here. We were definitely not disappointed. A beautiful place in a great town. We met Al (the owner) when we first arrived and he couldn't have made us feel more welcome. He showed us to our room, a large suite upstairs. It was wonderfully appointed and so spacious and comfortable. Ultimately we did meet Gloria, the manager, with whom I had communicated when making the reservation. She is wonderfully warm and welcoming. She made some wonderful recommendations for dinner, including Loretta, where we ate later on that evening. I will review that separately, but it was quite good. When we returned to our room, a chilling bottle of champagne was waiting for us. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. She had said a continental breakfast, but it was much more. We had a great stay and will definitely stay longer if we ever get back to Newburyport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although my husband and I generally rent villas, apartments, or houses when we travel, we found the Compass Rose Inn to be one of the nicest accommodations we have ever experienced! From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the traditional beauty and quality of the Inn and were even more impressed when we entered the gorgeous and welcoming living area. Gloria, the innkeeper was perfect...just the right blend of availability and presence, while giving us total privacy. Our room was absolutely divine! Beautiful light, charming french doors separating the sitting area from the bedroom, a lovely, spacious bathroom, and fireplace!! After checking in, we took our cocktails up to the charming cupola to enjoy the beautiful view and fresh air. We had it all to ourselves and it made such a great memory! The next morning, Gloria had set out milk, cereal, and coffee for us early and followed up a little later with a homemade omelet for my husband...made with local and seasonal vegetables! Our entire time there was fantastic! Loved it and look forward to going back someday! Note: Gloria told us about Loretta, a nearby restaurant frequented by locals which was incredible! By far, the best food we had during our whole vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great inn, great stay, great town. Newburyport was very busy with Homecoming week, yet the Inn was nice and relaxed and quiet. Beautifully built Inn. Enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. Blueberry pancakes one day and an omelette with peppers and squash the other. Advertised as a continental breakfast, but was much better. Lots of fresh fruit and juice also. Gloria and Kevin are great Innkeepers. Loved the perfectly set table each morning (beautiful blue dishes too).Very clean, well kept.We will be back! Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week. The innkeepers were wonderful people and the room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was also really nice. The hotel was truly a find and we would definitely stay here again. Newburyport is a very very nice town

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First impression. Wow! What a beautifully renovated turn of the century house. From the new bathroom to the architectural details to the very quiet tastefully decorated room with its fabulous king size bed. Then we found out the owner is respected local builder who used his resources to build and recreate this wonderful B&B. Our room was very large having a separate sitting area and the bathroom big and bright. The Inn itself is beautifully appointed, very clean and has all the amenities you'd want or need. It's perfectly situated a block for the water and Market Square. The Innkeeper. Gloria, is charming and a delight to talk to over the wonderful breakfast served each morning. This Inn was a perfect choice for our 4 night stay in Newburyport.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in the Compass Rose Inn to celebrate our 1-year anniversary. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years, and this one was the nicest we have ever stayed. The house is beautiful, the rooms clean, bright, and spacious. It really seems like no expense was spared in the details of the rooms, really comfortable bed and great details in the bathroom including oversize soaking tub.

The breakfast was delicious (vegetable omelet, blueberry pancakes, fresh baked muffins, scones, fresh fruit salad, juice, coffee, yum!) The Innkeeper was super sweet and very helpful and recommended good food and shopping in the area.

I felt like the best part of the stay was the proximity to everything in town. It was great to be able to walk a couple of blocks to the water or the heart of the quaint town. So many great options for dining, after dinner drinks and cute little shops. I will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compass Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Inn

Address: 5 1/2 Center Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Newburyport, you'll find a hidden treasure called Compass Rose. This sophisticated all-suite Inn offers you the opportunity to relax and experience the character and historic charm of a picturesque New England town. Compass Rose is a newly constructed Federal style mansion incorporating period ambiance with state of the art comfort and safety. Our spacious accommodations include five elegant three-room suites; each with a fire placed sitting room, bedroom with king sized bed and a luxurious private bath and a dressing alcove. We offer a convenient first floor suite for our visitors who prefer not to use stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Compass Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Hotel Newburyport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.