We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
1 Market Sq, Ste 2, Newburyport, MA 01950-4701
+1 978-462-3808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 87 Restaurants in Newburyport
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is well-managed and very well-staffed. At 7:30 on a very busy Saturday in June we arrived to a substantial line. We had reservations, so I went to the hostess. We were seated within three minutes despite the long line. In fact, I noticed noone had to wait to long, even without reservations. The food was very good (as was the pitcher of Strawberry Rhubarb Sangria). Well-prepared and hot. Our waiter, Chris, was a joy. Delightful and efficient. Even the manager stopped by to inquire about our food. And best of all, this is a very affordable place. Kudos to the management. You can tell the employees are happy and have pride in their work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We sat on the patio overlooking the waterfront park. We enjoyed martinis and oysters for appetizers before dinner, delicious! We had a wonderful dinner of scallops and salad!
Unfortunately the service was awful! Brought our oysters, no napkins or silverware, had to ask. Never brought spoons or sugar with our after dinner coffee, even though we asked. Waitress walked by our table fives times after she brought our coffee and check and never made eye contact again. Additional training needed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“More average than it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This attractive Newburyport restaurant has always been a reliable place for a great pizza or a casual dinner--great food, great service. But our last visit was a disappointment. The favorite crab cakes were gone from the menu. The chicken quesadilla did not taste fresh. And the service was a bit slapdash. Maybe it was an off day but it was the first time we were ever let down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not Your Average Joe's in Newburyport is super clean and wonderful environment. The staff was very friendly, and the food was hot and incredibly good!! I had the clam chowder and a glass of wine, everything came very quickly, and I had no complaints at all. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Tired of huge portions of food in the USA , my daughter and I stopped here for lunch. We had a beautiful soup, the cup was a very adequate lunch portion and we shared an appetiser slad which they kindly served on 2 plates. It was perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.