We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my local favorites! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Cow Tap & Grill

Black Cow Tap & Grill
54R Merrimac Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
978-499-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Newburyport
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of my local favorites! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We've lived in Newburyport for over fifteen years and eaten here many times since they opened. It's very good. Besides being a beautiful waterfront spot with a deck that overlooks boats - or sometimes when the tide is high looks like it is a boat! - and our riverfront park and boardwalk, the food is consistently good and the servers seem pleasant and efficient. The fish - salmon and haddock and the burgers are two favorites. It's a tourist favorite, with free paved not on dirt parking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    90
    43
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Love the outdoor patio with the harbor view. Service was excellent and the food was delicious as usual. Love their Baked Haddock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great views okay food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a great place to relax on a nice summer day. Food is okay but somewhat pricey.
Make sure you get a table outside -- well worth the money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“First time at the Black Cow and we had a very good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have been going to Newburyport for 6 summers now but this was our first time trying the Black Cow. We loved the interior style and you get great views of the water from the deck as well as through the large windows inside. There were 6 of us so we had a chance to sample a wide variety of things. The clam chowder was excellent and we loved the calamari with banana and cherry peppers. The salads are huge and enough to be your whole meal. I got the ribeye and it was well seasoned with a great crust on the outside. It was more medium then the medium rare I ordered but it wasn't a huge issue. I have found you need to order rare to get medium rare at most restaraunts these days. They also had some great beers on tap which was a huge plus. I've never been anywhere that had old speckled hen on tap. All in all a very good meal. Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great water views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I live in Newburyport and have been to this restaurant several times. It is not one of my favorites, but I sometimes meet friends there for lunch or dinner. The menu is pretty limited and portions are small. I typically just get a salad and appetizer. Those who have never been to Newburyport before typically pick this restaurant because it is trendy and right on the river. The bar is very popular as well; it is typically very crowded in the evenings and pretty crazy on the weekend. I guess I prefer Michael's Harborside over the Black Cow, as the portions are larger and the menu has way more choices. But I guess for a special occasion when you want a classier atmosphere, this would be a better choice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cow Tap & Grill also viewed

Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Black Cow Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Cow Tap & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.