We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transported to a mall in Japan?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Japan Restaurant

Hana Japan Restaurant
45 Storey St, Newburyport, MA 01950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 87 Restaurants in Newburyport
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Transported to a mall in Japan?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This restaurant is two minutes from Exit 57 off 95, for those of you traveling by and looking for something other than fast food. I feel like I'm transported from Newburyport to Japan every time we go here. I've never been to Japan. The couple who run the restaurant seem to make every effort to create a feel of Japan in the atmosphere, clothing and the food. They sponsor a Japanese festival near the restaurant each fall, and raise money -some of it for charities in Japan I think, by selling small gift items. It always seems fresh and usually tastes good. I like it. It's in a mall across from kmart. Not touristy but more local.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Like sushi, eat here. Like other Japanese food, eat here.

Best fresh ginger hot tea. Fried eggplant. Vegetable " garden roll". Plus usual fare we know and love.

Authentic feel with really good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little Gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I LOVE this place! It IS like being in Japan, so relaxing and different..very nice atmosphere. The sushi is fresh, artfully presented and delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and stopped in for lunch yesterday. As always, we were greeted by the hostess, who is the owner, along with her husband behind the sushi bar.

I had the sushi lunch plate, which was a deal for $14.95. The pieces of fish were artfully done, and were nice and plump. My wife's bento box was delicious and beautifully presented. Both lunches came with a bowl of miso soup.

Hana Japan has a nice, understated feel to it. I have been going there since they opened, and have never had disappointing sushi.

They do a brisk take out business, which I take to be a statement of support.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hana Japan a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there for the first time for lunch the other day. Immediately upon entering, it was like an oasis. We were greeted promptly and shown immediately to our seats. Service was with a smile and the staff was attentive. We both got sushi (one order tuna, one order sweet potato) and it was excellent. The best I've had in quite some time. Prices were defintely reasonable considering the quality of the food. Can't wait to return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japan Restaurant also viewed

 
Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Hana Japan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Japan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.