We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great with one exception...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oregano's Pizzeria

Oregano's Pizzeria
16 Pleasant Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
+1 978-462-5013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 87 Restaurants in Newburyport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Oregano Pizzeria and Ristorante is located in the heart of historic downtown Newburyport. We take pride in our homemade tomato marinara sauce which is prepared with crushed San Marzano Italian tomatoes (DOC). All of our mozzarella cheese is a blended with real buffalo milk & is a 50/50 mix of skim & whole milk cheese. Our fresh mozzarella di Bufala cheese is Italian imported (DOC). Each pizza dough is hand stretched and topped with the freshest locally grown ingredients then finished in our signature brick oven imported from Genoa, Italy. Al dente pasta and Italian entrees, fresh salads, and house-made desserts are sure to entice you! All of our menu items are available gluten free! Enjoy a variety of local brew beers, unique cocktails, or one of our 30 wines, by the glass-the largest selection of Italian wines from the premier regions of Italy. Come visit our warm and cozy dining room or order takeout to bring home. Let's Go To Oregano! Ciao!
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently great with one exception...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The pizza brings you in because it is crisp, thin crust and delicious in a better than average pizzeria setting with some great art work on the walls. The salads are typically good, however, we had our favorite pick recently - an apple walnut and spinach that had been altered to look 'artsy' but tasted lousy. Imagine adding tomatoes on cucumbers around the plate for a 'look' that detracted from the essence of the dish.
Anyway, enough about the bad salad, the pizzas are consistently great. It's our favorite cheap date night haunt.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“so so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ordered the hummus on pita.half the pita was burnt black and they just dumped the hummus in the middle of it so it was soggy therefore about a quarter of this dish was edible. Also ordered the pistachio salad, they bring the salad and informed my guest that they ran out of pistachios so therefore used candied walnuts in instead. not good move. changes the entire salad.
not crazy about this palce would not return. long wait in service

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian Food with a Flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Comfortable family atmosphere inside, cozy space outside on warm evenings. Friendly staff. Delicious food-enough to share a pizza or entree with a friend.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pizza place - when you want it fancy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

A great selection of pizzas with fresh ingredients, nice atmosphere and polite staff. Not a huge space so plan ahead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nasty Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Seen menu on line somewhere and looked good, Even smelled good on way in. Got the Chicken, Broccoli & Penne. What came was broccoli too hot to eat (just been microwaved) tough chicken in , no kidding, water sauce! 4 of us had differant dishes, all bad. Owner comes by and ask us how it was, we told him, Unbelievably, his answer was, "the good cook is off tonight, I will speak to this one, and you should come back next week when the good cook is working! Never offered to do any thing to right the wrong. I still tell friends of his reaction, memory good for a laugh anyways.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregano's Pizzeria also viewed

Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Oregano's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregano's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.