We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of Newburyport...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceia Kitchen & Bar

Ceia Kitchen & Bar
38 State St, Newburyport, MA 01950-6614
978-358-8112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ceia Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Newburyport
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Essex St
Description: Where laughter is required. Jacket & tie are not. Going out with friends or a special someone means choosing a neighborly place that feels as comfortable as home, where conversation flows as easily as a smooth cabernet. Welcome to Ceia Kitchen + Bar. A new kind of nightlife in the heart of Downtown Newburyport, introducing this area"s first extended kitchen hours for later night dining or tete-a-tete cocktails with flavorful small plates. Our exposed brick interior with mellow lighting, cozy banquets and featured cocktail bar beckon even impromptu visits to this reliable neighborly eatery where singles, dates and a posse of good friends are assured of a comfortable night out with delicious food and great company. The spirit of Ceia (pr. SAY-yah) is in the translation of our name: "supper" in Portuguese, the language of one country included among the inspiring stops of our coastal European culinary repertoire.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A jewel of Newburyport...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to Newburyport to see the foliage. Knew nothing about the restaurant. Made reservation 30-45 minutes before showing up. The atmosphere, the menu, the food was way above our expectations. Ox Tail is a must to try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
farmington, ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Made reservations weeks in advance to go here because we liked what we saw on the menu. But we were disappointed by the food. The burger was overcooked and didn't have much flavor to it. The risotto was good, but not great. Not worth what we spend on the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“High end ingredients in a great old historic building in downtown Newburyport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The new location of this restaurant is fantastic for both their bar and their food. If it looks crowded on the first floor venture to the third floor bar and you will likely find a seat. The food is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend the octopus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Reviews brought me in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

But I won't go back soon. Food was bland as was our waiter. They were not busy during our early reservation, but the attention paid to our table was minimal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've been several times and it has always been delicious. Today I tried the duck crepes - wonderful. Service is great and friendly. This is one of our favorite spots.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceia Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 
Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Ceia Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceia Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.