We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loretta

Loretta
27 State Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
978-463-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: new
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stopped by Loretta for the first time last Saturday evening after reccomendation from friends. We did not have a reservation but the owner went out of his way to accommodate us in just 20 minutes.

The waitstaff was very professional and personable, not feeling rushed like they had no time to talk to you which was very refreshing.

The food was fantastic, we had the filet mignon, ribs, and chicken piccata. I can honestly say this is one of the better steaks I have had in recent years. The mashed potatoes were equally delicious.

We will definitely be back, especially with such reasonable prices given the quality of our meals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    46
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Little ,nice and excellent food place to have your dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food quality,amount and taste were beyoung our expectations.The daily dinner specials were excellent and good price. Service on the hight standard, and owner there to chat with you.We all loved it.Will repeat as soon as possible

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Bad but Should Have Been Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went here after a long day in Newburyport and Plum Island. They were out of a few items on the menu; wont criticize that since we went long after the dinner rush and were told it had been very crowded. My gf and I each started with a drink: have a decent wine and beer selection. GF had a salad, added shrimp and asked for dressing on side. Salad came with dressing already added although it was nicely dressed. She asked for the shrimp, but it did not really go with cherry tomatoes, pecans and cranberries that were on the salad - very odd mix (and way too many cranberries!) Also, menu said shaved parmesan and it seemed to clearly come from a bag. Shrimp cost $7 to add to salad and there were only four of them, although they were quite tasty.
I ordered the crab cakes which were excellent and a side of fries which were very good. Sat at the bar and we weren't asked if we wanted water which is something I prefer and also we were given a dirty knife. Not something that should happen when not crowded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spare ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Advertised as baby back ribs and they were not. Just country style. Average sauce.
Pulled pork sandwich was good for $8.95.
Drinks overpriced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor ME
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Some good and some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent--the crawfish with manchego cheese
Pretty good--the french fries were tasty if a trifle soggy. The waitress was attentive.
Soso--the ribs, while meaty, really didn't have much flavor and seemed to have been left to warm too long. The iced tea was overly bitter. The caesar salad was pedestrian

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretta also viewed

 

Been to Loretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.