We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming stay and Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Brown Square, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Charming stay and Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Garrison is a quaint and beautiful boutique Inn situated in a perfect location in Newburyport. The service as well as hospitality at the hotel is warm and inviting. Rick at the front desk is friendly and helpful. Also, the breakfast offered in the morning is delicious cooked by the chef is delicious as is the tea served in the afternoon. The Paradiso Spa was fantastic for various treatments at the Inn. The Loft room we stayed in at the Inn is spacious and boutique cute! This hotel is a great place to stay in Newburyport for its location, services, hospitality/rooms, amenities, and overall charm. We can't wait to return to the Garrison Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    59
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
158
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay. This hotel is well managed, clean and offers a lot that large hotels cannot. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms need updating as does the mattress that we had which was bouncy and not supportive enough. Our room had some strange plastic (pleather) headboard with cheap lacquered end tables with matching dresser and makeup table. The room decor is blah. This could be five stars with just a little bit of work. The cooked to order breakfast is excellent along with the gentleman that cooks and serves it. You should be happy staying here.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while the city celebrated Yankee homecoming..Our room was ready when we arrived early as well was very clean .. Their service was great a well their restaurant was phenomenal!!! We had without a doubt the best time of our lives ..
We already are planning on returning for next years festivities !!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We came ti this hotel needing to get away and didn't want to go back! Our room was spectacular, the people very friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea was delightful. The breakfast outstanding. We had couple's massages at Paradiso referenced in the web site and were left feeling refreshed and relaxed. To add the ultimate dimension have dinner at the lighthouse! It will be one of the best times of your life!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor, with a view of the water. Right in the heart of town and we could walk to anything, including the docks and water. Great shops and restaurants right there and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was amazing! We will be back for sure and you MUST stay at this wonderful boutique hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently stayed at the Garrison Inn for a work conference held off site. I was so pleased to have been advised to stay here. The room size and amenities is a huge value as the prices are very reasonable. The complimentary "made to order" breakfast each morning far exceeded my expectations. Staff is attentive and very helpful. The location is perfect, everything I wanted was in easy walking distance. Couldn't have asked for anything more! Highly recommend the Garrison to anyone traveling to Newburyport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Garrison to celebrate my wife's birthday. The studio room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Very comfortable bed and bedding. We enjoyed afternoon tea and the made to order breakfast was delicious. The location is convenient, walking distance to most everyplace in town. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 11 Brown Square, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers.As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport’s historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, flawless service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.