We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything and great charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Brown Square, Newburyport, MA 01950   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to everything and great charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for my brothers wedding. Loved the atmosphere and centralized location to everything around. Easy walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants but a few blocks away from noisy bar areas so sleep won't be hard to get. Would reccomend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    58
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
54
156
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sharon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying at the Garrison Inn. We travel quite a bit so we have a good basis of comparison. This is our favorite boutique hotel, so we decided to spend our 10th anniversary here, and were upgraded to a 2-level loft suite. The staff are so friendly, professional and accommodating, and the hotel is simply lovely. There's so much to do and see in Newburyport and their happy to keep you informed. We also love that it's dog friendly, (and not just the under 20 lb. kind), as we get to bring Oliver, and walk to the waterfront, browse the shops and galleries, and take sit outside at Oregano's and have a cocktail. I can't say enough great things about the Garrison. If you go, meet Jen at the front desk, she's sure to make you smile!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of Brown Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Newburyport is an absolutely wonderful town but don't let the positive reviews of the town confuse you regarding The Garrison Inn. My husband and I have been coming to Newburyport for many years and have sampled several of the in-town inns many times including: The Compass Rose Inn, The Essex Street Inn and The Garrison Inn so we have a good sense of the positives and negatives of each place. "Back in the day," as they say, The Garrison Inn was a lovely place to stay. The building is interesting and the service was friendly and accommodating. However, as management and ownership have changed, The Garrison Inn has taken on a nasty, stuffy, "screw you" attitude which is in direct contrast to the warm and welcoming style of the other inns in town. First off, when you book a room, you will immediately be charged a non-refundable "booking" fee of $25. If you cancel (even if you cancel months in advance) you will still forfeit this $25 "booking fee." Secondly, there is the "cancellation fee" (a full night's stay including taxes) even if you have a family emergency (illness,) and have spent thousands of $$ over the years at The Garrison Inn. I was asked: "Didn't you know about our 'cancellation fee?" Apparently not, even though I ALWAYS read the fine print. As someone who travels around the world for business and pleasure, I have never been charged a "cancellation fee" if I informed the hotel/inn at the normal check out time with several hours notice. But, these days, The Garrison Inn is all about how much money they can make off of you as opposed to good will or good service. Then, there is the staff. Generally you have inexperienced people who are much more interested in surfing the net or attempting to "up-sell you" (wine, chocolates, spa services, dinner in the downstairs restaurant) than they are motivated to deal with your questions and concerns. Finally, in the last ownership/management change which included renovation of the property) The Garrison Inn is now charging $200+ for tiny rooms (I believe they took some existing rooms and cut them in half!) which look out on the parking lot and have bathrooms dating back to the 1970's. I could not even find a space to put my small soap in the shower/tub which had a different "Red Roof" vibe to it.

Take it from people who have been coming to Newburyport for many years. The Compass Rose and The Essex Street Inn have it all over The Garrison Inn. Staffs who care about you with rooms in lovely, charming buildings with more amenities, lower rates and no hidden fees.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located in a historic building this inn has a friendly staff and a delightful breakfast. It's location makes a day inNewburyport a treat. Lots of nice things nearby. The staff needs to keep it a bit more tidy and thr bathroom needed a remake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of being a guest at the Garrison Inn while relocating to the area. I had stayed there on and off for 2 months and never had a bad experience. The staff, location amenities etc. are all phenomenal. I really enjoyed the free made to order breakfast, free nightly champagne cocktail and luxury Bvlgari amenities. If you are anywhere near the area you should absolutely stay in this brick wall exposed, historic building right in the heart of Newburyport. I stayed there both alone and with my family (two little kids) and either they are welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in August for 5 days as we were in town for a wedding. Words cannot express how beautiful this hotel is, we stayed in the studio room which was very beautiful and very clean. Breakfast was really nice plus you dont have to stick to the menu, if the chef has it he will cook anything you desire! Location was excellent, we could walk down to the harbour, the highstreet (where there are quite a few restaurants and bars). If you get a chance to visit this town i strongly recommend the Garrison Inn...thank you so much for making our stay brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent 5 wonderful days at the Garrison inn. Jen and Chris were marvelous hosts. They directed us to Crane Beach which was huge,deep, with white sand. The restaurants tharvwere suggested had tasteful food- siimilar to NYC atmosphere. Don't let me leave out how fabulous our room was-The Yorker. The decor was Devine, with the best pillows created. The bathroom had the sweetest shower head with Bvgari toiletries covered in marble. Know also that Stu the breakfast chef was so accomadating and lovely as can be.
Can't wait till next year- Newburyport here we come.

Room Tip: The New Yorker is a winner. But in sure that others with many windows on an upper floor would be gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 11 Brown Square, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers.As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport’s historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, flawless service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.