We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape for a weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of blue, The Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added blue, The Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
blue, The Inn on the Beach
20 Fordham Way, Newbury, MA 01951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
aperry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great escape for a weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I went up there 4 nights 5 days. The staff is very friendly! The rooms are white and crisp and the beach was right outside our room which was beautiful!

Negatives:
We were the only guest there 1 night which was nice and peaceful but a bit scary cause there is no one at the front desk either. If you need anything at all, towels, ice, cups or snacks you must get this before anyone goes home.

Housekeeping definitely does not mop the floor. There was sand all over our room for the 5 days.

I stayed in Ocean villa 2. The bed is up against the wall next to the door. You can see the hallway from your pillow and when people are walking by. (can be a bit awkward

The bathroom is VERY small! I can't right much more about that but it is very small!!

POSITIVES:
Staff is very friendly

Room has great interior, and good location. Steps to the beach! You can hear the waves crashing while you are in bed!

Many different options for style room you need to accommodate anyone.

Free mini bar that includes waters and sodas. Coffee machine that also made hot coco and tea.

We got an amazing in room
massage.

A nice treat was free breakfast in the morning.. A yogurt, juice, muffin or bagel, cereal. It was left at your door in a cute picnic basket at your time of choice.. I do agree with another review, for the high rates this inn has they could step u the quality of the food.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Blue is truly a mixed bag. The location right on the beautiful Plum Island beach is perfect- in any season- although Plum Island itself is a bit ramshackle. The convenience to Newburyport is great. The inn itself is really nice with great amenities and very comfortable beds. Extremely clean upon entering, the daily maid service leaves something to be desired. Perfunctory at best, at least in the winter. Some trash baskets weren't emptied, old towels were not removed and the floors were not vacuumed or swept.

The continental breakfasts are quietly delivered to the room, on time, in pretty picnic baskets, but the pastries are mundane and skimpy- for example one small, commercial blueberry muffin per person or a cold danish, mediocre bagel and less than mediocre croissant. There is also cereal, bottled OJ, yoghurt and fresh fruit.

Coffee is serve yourself in a Kreurig coffee maker. Given the number of good bakeries in Newburyport, there is no excuse for the low end pastries.

The personnel at the inn are quite friendly and their in room massage service (contracted out) is well above average, what you might find in a real spa.

One comment on the tariff. Winter is a pretty good bargain- but the summer price tag is extremly high, (at a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons level) with the tax and service charge. They obviously can get it because of the location, but at least they should kick the breakfasts and maid service up a notch.

Also needed are partitions on the balconies to afford guests some privacy- again to reflect what would be found in most upscale establishments.

It wouldn't take much for blue, the Inn to become a real 4 star hotel vs. a 4 star wannabe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My daughter and I head to New England the first week of December each year to participate in Nantucket's Christmas Stroll and also do a little genealogy research along the way. Normally, we head southwest along the Rhode Island /Connecticut coast but this year decided to venture north towards Marblehead and then Newburyport, MA. Being from Colorado, we try to stay near the ocean, and when possible, stay right on it. We certainly weren't disappointed when we found ourselves at blue, Inn on the Beach just outside of Newburyport on Plum Island.

We arrived in the dark, and were glad to have our faithful TomTom GPS system due to the winding weaving streets of the island. It's always a little daunting arriving anywhere you've never stayed in the dark because you can't really get the lay of the land. However, the Inn was lit well and the proprietor was waiting for us and greeted us with a very warm welcome. We were even given a choice of rooms, as it was off season as well as a week day and the Inn was all but empty.

Our room was pure Pottery Barn white. The amenities were too numerous to count. Suffice it to say, everything was generous in quantity and quality. Enhancing the airy atmosphere of the room, a heat generating gas fireplace was blazing as we entered, which was very welcome as December in northern Massachusetts can be a bit cool. French doors opened up to a spacious shared deck and a hot tub that was strategically placed about 50 feet away. We could hear the breakers but couldn't really see the ocean due to the darkness, though we knew it was nearby. Just how close was revealed the next morning when we discovered that just off the deck was a set of maybe five steps that led directly onto the beach. We literally felt like we were on a boat when we stood in our room and looked out. It was enchanting and breathtaking. Oh, and let's not forget the charming and delicious Continental breakfast nestled in a wicker basket that was left by our door bright and early in the morning (we could dictate when it would be delivered and it was right on time).

Our stay, though brief (just one night), was very impressive. I think this place is at the top of our 'Memorable' list, and believe me when I say we've stayed at some very lovely, special places. It was, dare I say? Perfect. I should add here that staying in the off season is far less expensive, which only added to the positive experience. Had we paid the high season rate I might have been more critical, though even then it would have been difficult to find fault with blue. All in all I'd give the place an A+++++ rating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

we stayed in room # 12 and it was what i wanted. to hear the crashing waves when you go to bed and when you awaken.it was the hottest days of the summer(100 degrees)the air condition was barley working and the air conditioner getleman was onthe grounds trying to repair the system. he discovered that the air/heating unit was on an outside wall with the vent partially covered.we had a fan--i could do that at home.then when my husband drew me my bath-after hours at the beach-sand not visible to the eye rose up .urk.which makes me believe the cleaning staffjust wipes the tub slightly without running the water because they would have clearly seen the sand-i do not expect to clean a tub on my vaca.the floor rug was so stained and i was told by managmant that they were in the process of ripping it out i sure hope so--it was disgusting.for the money we spent we should not have be subjected to such conditions. however,the amenities (the bottle of "relax: wine,soda,water,fruit,flowers, and the continental breakfast delivered to your door in a basket was delightful. fix the few problems and we shall retun-cannot beat theambiance

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

after a dissapointing trip to cape cod we were looking for something special in new england. not that easy if you search for a modern rather designish :-) kind of venue. the blue is exactly that. it looks like south beach. all the comfort you want, great staff, impecable service, the perfect location. we stayed in one of the cottages and simply loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I spent two nights at Blue with a friend, after the end of the beach season. Lots of nice amenities - very clean room, comfortable bed, large & deep jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace (wonderful in the cool evening), continental breakfast delivered to our door.

The suites have French doors opening onto a porch on the beach. The doors had serious salt water corrosion so were very difficult to open and close. There were some issues with our gas fireplace as well. Seemed that ongoing maintenance was lacking.

Overall, we had a good time, although I think it's quite overpriced ($350+ nightly with tax and service fee).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Blue is such a beautiful hotel you won't want to go home. The clean lines of the white and blue decor combined with the French doors opening to the deck directly on the beach create an oasis of tranquility. The staff are very accessible if you need anything, but they also leave you alone and are not intrusive. We loved the breakfasts and snacks delivered via picnic basket to the door of the room. We also appreciated the fact that the staff did not knock on the door and wake you, but rather delivered the basket at a pre-determined time. In the evening we returned to find all of our outdoor lanterns lit and beach chairs protected. The staff took care not to be noticed. The beach was beautiful and remarkably private. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to blue, The Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about blue, The Inn on the Beach

Address: 20 Fordham Way, Newbury, MA 01951
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newbury
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to blue, The Inn on The Beach; a world away, but just around the corner. Nestled in the dunes of secluded Plum Island, blue’s 15 accommodations include Oceanfront Suites along with family and pet friendly cottages. For the ultimate getaway choose the Oceanfront Villa, the two-story Grand Salon or the exclusive Penthouse 3. Open year-round, make your vacation an unforgettable one during any season here at blue. blue, The Inn on The Beach; private, luxurious and like nothing else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your blue, The Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue The Inn On The Beach Hotel Newbury
Blue Hotel Newbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage blue, The Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.