We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Inn on the Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Inn on the Green to your Saves list
The Old Inn on the Green
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   134 Hartsville New Marlborough Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
framingham, ma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Enticed by an online deal I could not resist, and the chance to visit an undiscovered Berkshire town, I booked a two-nite package with meals. I urge you to book now -- at any price -- to enjoy the positive experience this fine historic inn and dining room provides. Can you say "candlelit 5-star dinner?" Young, professional servers know their stuff, and the serious wine list merits special attention. Rooms upstairs or in an adjacent building were supremely tasteful, modern ( !! ) and offered every amenity. A sparkling pool, atmospheric bar, brick outdoor patio, laid back yet solicitous staff, and breakfast with fruit buffet and hot-from-the-oven baked goods all iced the cake, for me. Tired of all that tranquility? Funky, lively, culture-filled Great Barrington is an easy 15-minute drive to the north, while sleepy and scenic villages dot the south, west and east. I returned to "reality" feeling relaxed and refreshed from my 48-hour retreat.

Room Tip: Street-side upper rooms have shady porches; a good choice since there is virtually NO traffic or noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    30
    11
    11
    8
See reviews for
12
114
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This inn is located in a sleepy part of the Berkshires, a perfect place for relaxing and winding down from the normal daily routines. The inn is very comfortable but the outstanding facet is its high end dining - both dinner and breakfast are above the normal par for such a destination. It has a "28" out of "30" dining rating, and it is well deserved. Although set in a rather remote area, it takes only a short drive to many interesting places. We will return.

Room Tip: Room # 194 is very comfortable with two good sized rooms and a nice porch overlooking the green- all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What began as a special dinner out to celebrate ended with a lovely overnight. We have dined here several times and were willing to travel 2 hours just for this special dinner - and the dinner was absolutely superb! There is such attention to detail and flavors. This is not for those who look for quantity over quality. Dining here is very reminiscent of fine dining in Europe. Toward the end of our wonderful dinner my husband suggested that we ask if they had a room available, rather than take the long drive back home. They did, and set about preparing the room while we indulged in dessert and coffee. When we entered our bedroom there was a lovely fire in the fireplace. We were made to feel so welcome and we continue to have wonderful memories.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid week and it was wonderful. Our hostess Meredith met us promptly and showed us to our room. It was a lovely room with a large bathroom and jacazzui. She suggested dinner that evening in Great Barrington and recomended a couple of places to try. After we unpacked we sat by the pool and relaxed with drinks. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and wonderful warm pasteries from the bakery. My birthday dinner was the best of all. A 7 course wine and tasting meal that was amazing. I couldnt have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the Innkeepers were very cordial and the Inn is very charming. I echo much of the other good reviews before me, so I wont repeat. The restaurant is closed on Tuesday. Ok, fine - we'll just find another restaurant that night. Well, the problem is all the restaurants seem to be closed on Tuesday nights. I think the Inn would do their customers a favor and provide a list of nearby places that are open onTuesday nights. The Inn is in a very secluded part of the Berkshires and there is nothing much to do in the direct vincinity of the Inn. I recomending if you are there on a Tuesday plan on eating in Stockbridge, Lee or Great Barrington. Also, I stayed in room 205 in the Thayer House. Lovely bathroom, the robes were great. The bed was very sqeaky. I'm just saying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the inn through a travelzoo deal which included dinner, lunch and breakfast. We began our afternoon evening with wine, cheese and crackers complimentary! Dinner was amazing. I had a lobster claw and scallop appetizers that was so sweet and tender I would have thought I was dining at a restaurant on the Boston waterfront! The waitstaff (James) and others (Meredith and Peter along with a couple of others) were really nice and friendly. They gave us great recommendations like Hancock Shaker Village, Campbell Lake Falls and some museums which we didn't actually have time to partake in! We both agreed this 4 star in deserves a 5th! We plan to come back again!

Room Tip: We chose the room with the Jacuzzi but never got a chance to use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was listed on Travelzoo. It included 1 dinner, which on the first evening was wonderful. The 2 breakfasts included wonderful pastries provided by the Southfield Store Cafe, fresh fruit and homemade granola. And a 3 course lunch, also at the café, again wonderful food. We stayed in the Thayer House which was clean and comfortable. I called ahead to ask a couple of questions. The woman who answered was very rude and just hung up when I finished with my questions. My husband mentioned it when he called and the gentleman said he would take care of it. Come to find out, the woman is the other owner. One of the other guests asked if she had any suggestions where they should start sightseeing, and her answer was a curt," DO YOU WANT ME TO PLAN YOUR VACATION FOR YOU?!?" The second night we decided to eat at the restaurant because I wanted the soup I had the night before. It was very crowded. My soup was 1/2 the portion and had been diluted with maybe milk to stretch it. I would rather have been told they ran out than to do what they did to it. It changed the whole texture and flavor of the soup. I would definitely east at the Southfield Store Café again. And I would like to give the Old Inn on the Green restaurant another chance. But, I hope the owner practices her people skills before she drives people away. Perhaps, she can find something to do behind the scenes?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlborough Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Inn on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.