We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy service, mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bertucci's

Bertucci's
1257 Highland Ave, Needham, MA 02492-2615
781-449-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 57 Restaurants in Needham
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lousy service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped in at the Needham Bertucci’s on a Sunday night without a reservation. The restaurant was largely empty. We were seated fairly promptly. However, after that the quality of service was lacking. One of our party has a dietary restriction and asked our server about ingredients in a dish. It took a second request before the response was forthcoming. One of our party found that the spaghetti and meatballs she had ordered had almost no sauce on it, and asked the waiter to bring more sauce. He did bring more, but only after stopping at another table to chat with some young ladies, while the sauce-less spaghetti at our table cooled. Asked for more napkins, he returned with them after we had requested and received them from another server, having concluded that he had forgotten. He asked us once if everything was okay, but never refilled our water glasses. The food was mediocre, not up to the standard we had experienced at other Bertucci’s locations. As one might expect, we will not be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When they were sold from the original owners a couple of years ago the price for a pizza went up a couple of dollars. However, the pizza is so good, it's almost worth it. The rolls are awesome. If you order online you can pick how many rolls you want. Pick the maximum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wide range of flavoursome dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this a cut above what we would expect of a chain. Food was very good and service could not be faulted - informative and attentive but not intrusive. I would recommend it, especially for families, as there is a wide range of flavoursome dishes available.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Informal Suburban Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Every few months family members and I drive to Needham to enjoy a relaxing Italian meal at this restaurant, my favorite in this chain. It's not the North End, but I have never had a bad meal here. There is seldom a wait for a table, and there always seems to be plenty of parking just outside. It is family-friendly, meaning it can get loud, but if you are looking for a good if not great meal, and don't want to be disappointed, visit this restaurant. I've only sat at the bar once, but I didn't notice any difference in the service or the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We used to go here every week but STOPPED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The service at the bar can be very slow because the bartender is also forced to wait on tables. The pizzas are highly overpriced ($20 for skimpy toppings) and the place is noisy (lots of kids and teenagers). We also found many of the bartenders to have a drippy personality. After going there for 3 or more years, we finally gave up and haven't been back since.

The one thing I love about the place is to order a couple of freshly rolled out pizza doughs, bring them home and make my own pizza or stromboli

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertucci's also viewed

 

Been to Bertucci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertucci's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.