I figure management must beat the staff regularly, as the service was so unfriendly and unhelpful. Examples:
1) Called hotel front desk to ask about directions to hotel by train. Put on hold for 12 minutes. Front desk person told me to "come downstairs to the front desk & I'll tell you". Told her I was trying to GET to the hotel...and she could not give me directions. Her diction betrayed a clear lack of education. After two tries with the front desk, I elected to speak to "group sales" and got a very pleasant woman who worked in a regional office, not on-site. However, she was able to give me clear directions to the hotel by train within seconds.
Fun fact: what happens when you are put on hold is you get to listen to commercials raving about the hotel's great service. Then the phone rings a few times, but instead of a human answering the phone, you get dumped back into the commercials. This happens several times while you are waiting to speak to someone. Very suspenseful!
2) Was told there by the helpful woman in group sales that there was a shuttle that would pick up guests at the train station. This service is also advertised on the website. Told to call the hotel before the train arrived at West Natick station. Called 20 minutes before train arrived; the man who answered insisted I call when I got to the station. I told him that is not what I had been advised to do. Then he said OK, we'll be there when you arrive, but no shuttle was at the station. Called from the station; was put on hold for 12 minutes on a cold autumn night. Finally someone answered. Said the shuttle would be there in 10 minutes. Shuttle arrived 50 minutes after my first call from the train. The shuttle driver was the most pleasant of all the hotel staff I encountered. I felt sorry for him because apparently both shuttle vans were in the shop or something -- so there was only one vehicle available for guests.
3) Decor is a garish W hotel wanna-be nightmare. If you like barbershop chairs, neon and parking garages, you will love this place.
4) Individual heating/AC unit in room was so loud, it woke me up several times during each of my two-night stay.
5) Bottled water was not replaced by chambermaid. This represented lost revenue to the hotel of $3.
6) Wanted to sit and have a drink with colleagues in the lobby on a Saturday night, but the tables were dirty. I asked the front desk clerk to have them cleaned. When the housekeeper arrived, she cleaned one dirty table, but not the one we were sitting at. When I asked her if she could kindly wipe down our table, she snapped at us -- very loudly -- and walked away. Absolutely stunning. She reminded me of the actress who played "Momma" in THROW MOMMA FROM THE TRAIN.
7) On Sunday, I went to the Phoenix Room to look for a colleague, where breakfast had been served. I did not intend to have breakfast (very mediocre), but the minute I walked into the room, a hotel staffer felt a need to inform me brusquely, and in no uncertain terms, that the room was CLOSED FOR BREAKFAST and needed to be set up RIGHT AWAY for ANOTHER FUNCTION and that we NEEDED TO LEAVE. I believe a sane, courteous person might have asked first if I wanted to have breakfast and if I had said yes, she could have politely explained the situation.
8) I could not access the hotel's "complimentary" wi-fi.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear E G,
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your feedback. We do take our comments very seriously and our staff strives to provide comfortable accommodations and friendly service. I am very sorry that you received service throughout your stay that was unacceptable and that we have fallen short of the expectations you have come to know from the Crowne Plaza brand. I have shared your nice comments with the shuttle driver and am glad you were able to have this pleasant interaction and found their efforts helpful after quite a frustrating experience. I apologize for the run around you experienced trying to obtain directions and also that you were put on hold for quite some time. I'm sorry you could not access the complimentary wifi.
I have shared all of your comments with our management team and will use these to improve the quality of service and amenities we offer to our guests. Feedback is a gift and I will ensure it is shared with the appropriate people to ensure that our valued guests expectations are met in the future. I do hope you will return and give our staff a chance to show you how great the Verve can be and the level of service it represents. I would like to give you my direct number so you can contact me with any questions or concerns you have. That being said, If you are returning to Natick, please contact me and I would be happy to set up your accommodations and discuss your previous stay in greater detail. I hope you have a nice holiday season.
Assistant Guest Services Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.