We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for a great sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Roast Beef

Kelly's Roast Beef
2 Under Price Way, Route 9 at Jordan's Furniture, Natick, MA 01760
508-872-4900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 112 Restaurants in Natick
Price range: $4 - $16
Restaurant details
Sturbridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stop for a great sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great roast beef sandwich. Good value and spacious seating and service. Lots of small kids who are mesmerized by tropical fish tank.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have no idea why Kelly's enjoys a good reputation -- the food can best be described as dull and flavorless, the atmosphere one rung above McDonalds, and the service hit-of-miss.

The place is on a very busy commercial strip -- there's plenty of other, better choices.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A 2 hour ride, but I'd do it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was dragged straight across Massachusetts by a friend who used to live in Framingham and was pining for what he said was the best roast beef he ever had. He gave me the whole history of the place on the way over (we went to the Natick location) and how if we had more time we'd go to their original spot on the harbor. This place was huge, spotless and very well organized. You place your order, find a seat, and your meal is delivered to you. My friend had, of course, the roast beef, which was piled high on a roll. He said it was as good as it's ever been. I wanted fried clams, and in a state known for fried clams, these were right up there. Alas, so many menu choices, so little time. We'll be back.
Prices are reasonable, bring the kids, bring your appetite. Also, bring a GPS...it's not that easy to find.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My cousins were in town and they had their children with them, so we decided to go to Kelly's. The kids got the Chicken Fingers and an order of Onion Rings, which they loved. My cousins got the Clam Plate and the Shrimp Plate, both of them could not believe how quantity of food on the plate. I got a lobster roll and clam chowder. We all had frappes, and they still make them by hand. Everyone had a good meal. If you are dining with children, this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“There are other better food places in Natick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Our companion had wanted to go here for the food and since we've never been before we decided to give it a try.

I'd looked at the menu for a long time and didn't find anything appealing to me. Finally decided on the whole belly clams and shrimp plate. DH had the scallop and fish plate. Our companion had the fish plate.

I'm always hesitant to get a fish plate without knowing what fish is being used so I'd asked and they use pollack as their fish of choice. I don't like pollack and it makes me think of fishsticks and won't eat pollack if there are other choices to choose from so I took a pass on it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Roast Beef also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Roast Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.