We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a oysters....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Seafoods

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Legal Seafoods
Route 9, Natick, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 112 restaurants in Natick
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a oysters....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved everthing on our diner. The anbience was nice, our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the specials, and give great advice on drinks. The was very good, but the oysters was out of this world!!!! We'll go back,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    9
    15
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Legal Seafoods--deelishus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Legal Seafoods, on Worcester Road, in Framingham, Massachusetts was wonderful from start to finish.

As newlyweds, we lived in the area, and 36 years later, we revisit when we can. December 14, we met our best friends for dinner; we stayed at the Crown Plaza, and used the tech-concierge to make our reservations "for 4 at 7:15 pm."

With ample parking, cordial greetings, we were seated by 7:30! Our waiter, Sean, was informed, congenial, and accommodating--our table, restaurant ambiance, and Saturday night surroundings added to our dining pleasures. With an extensive menu, to please any diner, we knew we'd be satisfied. Food presentation was impressive; seafood dishes, spectacular--with cocktails, appetizers, and side dishes "to die for!" Our dinner wine flavorful. With generous portions, we thoroughly savored our cocktail shrimp, chowders, clams, baked stuffed shrimp.. Our two-plus-hour experience was enjoyable from start to finish! We gals were celebrating our shared birthday; so were heralded with decadent layered chocolate cake, which we enjoyed with our coffee.

We never felt rushed, although the restaurant was busy, and happily bustling. We will go back again, sooner! Two thumbs up!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Piece of Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

restaurants, we had two very enjoyable meal at Legal Seafood.
The Swordfish with a skewer of Scallops and the Mahi Mahi with a skewer of Shrimps were delicious and recommended, especially with a good bottle of wine.
The staff were attentive, efficient and friendly.
We have dined at a number of Legal Seafood restaurants, and will certainly continue to do so.
($76 & $86 for 2 excluding drinks a service)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went here for lunch. The server was very good. She should have been working in a high end restaurant in Boston. Other than that the food was OK. We always like the clam chowder. The entree was good but not great for the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the fish, stay for the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Legal Seafoods is the go-to place for fish in the Boston area, both for locals and for tourists looking for an authentic Boston dining experience. This is no clam shack, but an upscale outfit that's serious about its seafood. Don't come here if you're mostly interested in chicken or steak - although they have both. I'm always mystified by people who come to a place with "Seafood" in its name and complain that the menu is "limited" because it's all fish. D'oh!

But if you're looking for a great assortment of the local catch, you can generally find it here: cod, tuna, swordfish, oysters, lobster, etc., offered grilled or steamed with an array of sauces to pick from. The chefs also experiment with more exotic preparations for daily specials -- often nut crusts or Asian-influenced dishes. I had a terrific macadamia nut-crusted mahi mahi recently, while one friend had the tuna (granted, cooked just a little too long) with broccoli rabe. Another big eater in the group had the scallops -- a portion so substantial that even she couldn't finish them -- while another happily downed the bluefish. All happy.

Salads were fresh, rolls were warm, service was attentive, the decor pleasant in a restaurant-in-a-shopping mall way.

But the thing that elevates this restaurant above its fishy peers is its wine list. Curated by Master of Wine Sandy Block, it offers an unusual selection of interesting wines at very reasonable prices. Last time we were there with friends (all local residents and long-time Legal lovers), we had a very nice valpolicella, but the real find was a terrific flanghina -- a crisp white Italian wine that thrives in volcanic soil --- in this case, the terroir of Pompeii. It was evidently one of our server's favorites, since she was eager to tell us its history and charms in great detail. Needless to say, we relished every drop. A happy change from our usual sauvignon blanc.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.