We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Sushi Restaurant in the Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oga's Japanese Cuisine

Oga's Japanese Cuisine
915 Worcester St, Natick, MA 01760-2056
(508) 653-4338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Natick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Framingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My Favorite Sushi Restaurant in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A friend and I meet here for a lunch a couple of times a month. We always enjoy sushi, and occasionally one of the other lunch specials.

The service for lunch is prompt, and professional, however; I have never eaten dinner here.

It's a tad pricy, but the food is excellent. Compared to some of the other places I have been in Metrowest, it is the best sushi. I also like Minado in Natick (it's all you can eat sushi, that's like being in heaven!), Ichiban in Ashland and Samba in Framingham were very good too.

I like the quieter atmosphere in Oga's - it's relaxing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Good sushi, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Not the best sushi in Boston as many have claimed, but good nonetheless. Rolls are big and rice is fresh. Pricey. Hohum service. Clean restaurant. I had a roll that had tuna (cooked), crab, eggs and spicey mayo. It was a huge roll, but there was something unappetizing about the texture and tuna flavor. Rainbow roll was skimpy. Tempura batter, one of my pet peeves, was actually good, thus the crab tempura was good. We had the duck appetizer which had 4 pancake quarters, duck slicess, plum sauce was ok. Manager was on site, polite. I neither told them I'm a blogger not commented on input from sites such as yelp, and I'm sure he noticed we aren't regulars. Good sushi, pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

We sat at the Sushi bar. Overall great service and high quality food and presentation. My only criticism is that the sushi pieces looked smaller than what you'd expect in a top Sushi restaurant. Will certainly go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh and innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Was not sure what to expect since I am not at all familiar with Natick and the resto is in a plaza. That said, the food and service were both fabulous. We eat sushi a lot and this was some of the best we've had -- the spicy tuna roll was delightful. I don't eat tempura but my companions told me it was the best they had ever had. Service was prompt and efficient and very helpful. I had read the reviews suggesting it was bit pricey but did not find that was the case at all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food, Service, and Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I visited this place on our adventures in finding good restaurants in Metrowest and we were pleasantly surprised. We visit this restaurant an average of once a month now, and we always get delicious, fresh, authentic Japanese food with excellent service and great attention to detail in the way dishes are prepared and presented. The prices are a bit high for this area, but similar to what you'd find in Boston and worth it for the consistently great food and service.

Getting there can be tricky if you're not familiar with the area. They are located on the westbound side of Route 9, so if you're coming from the east, get ready to turn into the parking lot just after the exit for Route 27. If you miss the entrance, you'll have to go quite a bit out of your way to get back there again! Coming from the west, you'll have to make your way around Route 27 to get yourself to the other side of Route 9, so if you feel like you're driving in circles, don't be alarmed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oga's Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Oga's Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oga's Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.