We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but a great variety of Sushi and other Japanese dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minado Restaurant

Minado Restaurant
1282 Worcester St, Natick, MA 01760-1511
508-647-0495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Natick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pricey, but a great variety of Sushi and other Japanese dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We come here a couple of times a year as a treat. We generally try to come on a weekday for lunch since the price is much higher on the weekends and holidays. We also try to avoid the noon time period since the line can be quite lengthy. I particularly enjoy the sushi and the variety of the maki. The sushi is not spectacular and it is sliced thinner than in most other places. But it is a good value when you can fill your plate with a wide variety and then go back for more. My wife prefers the soups, salads and tempura as well as the other Japanese offerings which are always fresh because of the large turnover. The service is outstanding. The staff is very attentive and polite. They removed the plates, replaced they water and provided extra napkins as we ate. .Its always a very good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like sushi, this is the place to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A little pricey for an everyday lunch, but it is worth the trip.
I love the sushi bar, the fish is fresh and the non sushi bar has a lot of variety. Love the Miso Soup and the petit deserts and the green tea ice cream is my favorite. My kids love to come along. Kids pay too but a small portion of the total buffet price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So Much to Choose From, So Little Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been to Minado 5 or 6 times over the past few years. I always come prepared to eat, and eat a lot. I mainly come because of the sushi, but the other offerings are really great too.

It is a buffet, which compared to most other buffets in the area, is just plain superior. First, it is a Japanese not Chinese buffet, which for this area is a little unusual. I recommend checking the extensive menu online. It is broken into sections including hot dishes, salads, seafood, a made-to-order hibachi, and the most extensive selection of sushi and sashimi I have ever seen on earth. Oh yes, and then there is the desert bar with green tea cake and ice cream - if you have room after the made-to-order crepes.

Last night's meal consisted of small portions of sushi cut tuna, smoked salmon, raw oysters, shrimp cocktail, scallop salad, asparagus salad, bok choy salad; eel, salmon and spicy tuna sushi; hibachi shrimp and a medium rare steak with vegetables (they have: chicken, salmon, steak, and a couple of others, but no Ahi tuna), a strawberry and banana crepe as well as some fresh fruit. There were plenty of items I didn't have, so again,check the online menu.

Mindao opens and 6 pm and I would get there a little early because it packs out on a weekend. The lunch menus quite a bit smaller than the dinner buffet. I was a little disappointed at the huge reduction in offerings.

The staff is efficient in getting drinks, refills, and clearing plates. They also have a cleaning staff that makes the rounds changing serving utensils and cleaning the plate counters. It can be a little noisy; it's just a big place.

The buffet is $31 per person on the weekend, so be ready to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
738 reviews
574 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Not worth it for vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

For over $30 sampling less than 10 vegetarian items isn't appealing, especially when 9 out of those 10 items you can pick up ala-cart at any old salad bar. When I asked the sushi chefs about vegetarian sushi, they laughed. In fact 3 of them laughed. So there you have it. If you're a vegetarian, don't bother. Pick up some sushi from stop n shop and you'll save yourself $25.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For the Sushi Novice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Love visiting Minado to try out new varieties of sushi. The place is clean and the sushi is yummy. They have recently mixed up what is available and the new selections are delicious!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Minado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.