We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a name change” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zaftig's

Zaftig's
1298 Worchester Rd, Natick, MA
508 653-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Natick
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More than a name change”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was hesitate to give Zaftig's a try when we discovered Joan and Ed's was no longer in that location. But hungry, we charged ahead. Yes, it was a disappointment. Corned beef in the Reuben was stringy and tough. Had to actually take it out of the sandwich and saw it with a knife. My daughter ordered a spinach salad. Asked for tomatoes and was charged another $1 for four small grape/cherry tomatoes. Expensive. Almost $3 for a cup of coffee. Not again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Cooking - Great Cold Cuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife beat me to the punch on this restaurant as Zaftig has replaced the former Joan & Ed's Deli that had previously been in the same location. I had the stuffed cabbage on my initial visit. The portions were huge and the sauce covering the cabbages was semi-sweet and tasty. The hamburg stuffing was good, but had more rice in it for my taste. I mix rice with hamburg when I make stuffed peppers but not in the increased proportion at this deli. On the plus side I have had sandwiches here on other occasions. The portions are great and their cold cuts are excellent. Overall, the service is very good and I feel good about recommending you give Zaftigs a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went here last night w/ a party of 12 for my wife's birthday and they came through on the fly. The appetizers were very tasty; especially the beef brisket quesadilla. The entree that I had was the tuna melt and it was really good. Dessert for me was the grapenut custard which was served warm and tasted fresh. My wife had the boston cream pie and she said it was awesome! Thank you Zaftig's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Go Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went here for breakfast with my wife, 3 year old son, and 1 year old daughter. The kids got pancakes off the kids menu. The wife and I got breakfast sandwiches. The sandwiches were not listed on the menu but they told us they made them and it is not a problem.
My wife got and egg and cheese on a bagel. I got one egg and corned beef hash on an english muffin.
The food was fine but here is the kicker. The sandwiches that they do not list on the menu were $10.95 each. Our bill came to $46.00 before adding on a tip!

Needless to say I felt swindled in my opinion and egg and cheese should never be over $7.00. To pay over $50.00 for breakfast for two adults and two very small children is ridiculous.

This place is outrageously overpriced, for mediocre food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This review is, to some extent, limited to its breakfasts, to which we go about once per week. The quality and selection of available items (which, by the way, include pretty much its entire menu) greatly exceed that available at other places in the area. Which is not to say that it falters in other areas. But, you do have to remember that this is a NYC-style deli -- you won't find a romantic decor nor filet mignon here. What you will get is a more or less authentic Reuben or pastrami sandwich or black & white cookie. Some might say that it is expensive for the size of its portions; perhaps so, but then you don't find the quality corned beef, lox, etc that you will get here anywhere else in the area. As to service, we have always found it to be extremely friendly and attentive (totally the opposite of a "real" NY deli -- you'll have to go elsewhere if you want to experience that kind of treatment).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaftig's also viewed

 

Been to Zaftig's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaftig's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.