We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deli Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaftig's

Zaftig's
1298 Worchester Rd, Natick, MA
508 653-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 112 Restaurants in Natick
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
“Great Deli Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

You don't expect great deli food way out here in the suburbs, but this is it. Same food as the sister restaurant in Brookline -- which is a good thing. Try the soups -- chicken soup to die for. Sandwiches for lunch -- authentic and hearty. Very friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatchville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Surprisingly disappointed after making this a favorite.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have made it a priority to visit this deli location in Natick, like many folks, even before it was a Zaftigs. In the past, I have enjoyed a Reuben and the Pickle/Tomato Plate among other things. My wife and Mom love the spread served with the crispy bagel chips. However; the other day, I wanted to eat light, so I ordered a side of corned beef hash which arrived lukewarm. My wife ordered scrambled eggs and breakfast potatoes which were served lukewarm and dry. I know I'm an admitted dining snob in the sense that I expect hot items to be served just that - Hot. I'm amazed that, what should have remained a hot dish even after being served up, the hash and the breakfast potatoes were not even close to hot. The eggs would have to be redone from scratch as reheating them would have made them all the more dry. We were short on time of course. I mentioned these to our waitress who apologized and removed the hash from the bill. There were no other conciliatory measures taken. Lastly, while waiting for coffee, I grabbed another waitress to replenish my coffee despite its waiting at the table's edge to be noticed. I feel that the visit is a deal-breaker. Disappointed...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the hot pastrami sandwich is amazing. Also had a breakfast here also very good. Does get real busy though

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing and misrepresentsd”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Zaftig's was known as an old time Jewish delicatessen where you could get good, not New York good, but good Jewish deli food.
When I asked for fresh roasted turkey the counter woman removed a Saran wrapped oval meat that looked like Boars Head. Slimy and compressed in appearance, I turned down the offer to taste it. I bought four slices of rye bread, thinking I would get the old fashioned crusty outside and soft tasty inside of the bread they would have to use a slicing machine for. Instead I got four pieces of commercial and almost stale bread that must have been per packaged from a Pep ridge Farm store. I bought salami after inquiring about its authenticity. It was okay but not the Hebrew National quality we had with the hanging salamis of the old days. What has happened to our food? I'm not going back there until or if I hear its returned to the real deli it should be

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Jewish delis are hard to find in the 'burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

So it is a Jewish deli, the food is good, not great but it is quite overpriced.Stick with the latkea, brisket, pastrami and smoked fish. If tou want a regular breakfast there are many other more rwasonable choices

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaftig's also viewed

 

Been to Zaftig's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaftig's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.