We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Average Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
90 Pleasant Valley St, Unit 200, Methuen, MA 01844-7214
+1 978-974-0015
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Methuen
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice place to meet for lunch. Your meal will start with a basket of the best artisan bread ever with a saucer oil, herbs and tons of cheese for dipping. We love the out of the ordinary menu choices like poached pear salad or pecan encrusted goat cheese over field geens. Another tasty choice is the very grownup version of grilled (4) cheese sandwcich and tomato (basil) soup. This soup is unfailingly wonderful. For something really different try the pistachio (yes, pistachio) pizza. You've never had anything like. Service is always prompt and friendly, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bought Gift Cards = Dine with Steve Silverstein, Founder and CEO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am officially a Not Your Average Joe's Koolaid drinker and with good cause! Honestly, my husband and I have ALWAYS loved this place but the perks are totally unbelievable! Back around November, they had this deal that if you bought $100 in gift cards, you got an extra $20, as I recall. Well, we dine here at least once/week and thought it made a lot of sense to get our money's worth and get some cards. And, if that weren't enough, if you bought $500, you would be invited to dine with the Founder and CEO for a personal event that he throws for his special patrons. We thought, what the heck! Given that we knew that between ourselves or holiday gifts for others, it was a great investment and we were curious to meet the man who created one of our favorite dining spots. Last night was simply MAGICAL! Sitting among others, like ourselves, we were spoiled absoutely rotten! The wine and beer flowed freely (literally) along with various appetizers brought to our tables by our favorite waitstaff. We then were asked which meal off the menu (absolutely anything) we wished to have as our entree. To top it off, they brought out cheesecake for dessert. This was all on the house from Mr Silverstein as a thank you to us for buying the cards! Crazy - yes; Appreciated - beyond words. Who does that, anyway? Well, Mr. Silverstein is undeniably one of THE most humble, gracious, lovely individuals you could ever want to meet. The satisfaction of knowing he has such a dedicated following truly seems to delight him. He praised his entire staff and thanked all those who attended the event. He spent a great deal of time chatting individually with everyone. He is an amazing individual and has created one of the best eateries around, due, in large part, to his tremendous work ethic and genuine care for those who work for him. You can feel the love among his employees and totally understand why there is so little turnover. The chefs were spot on last night, AS ALWAYS. Everyone clearly had a grand time. Special thanks to our favorite servers - Ashley, Tim, Maria and Sophia as well as management - "G" - you ARE the best! And, if this isn't enough to make you drink the Koolaid, how many restaurants offer you a free entree and a free dessert on your birthday? If you join their NYAJ's club, it comes via e-mail. Don't know how much longer they will be able to offer this as they get ready for a major expansion among their chain. I keep hoping they will make their way to Ft. Myers/Bonita Springs/Naples, FL, area where the Red Sox nation seems to retire to or at least visit during the winter months. Thanks, Mr. Silverstein, for making your establishment feel like home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not average at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A great stop before hitting the movies which are right next door. I've had the burgers here and they are filling and tasty. Good pizza as well. Can be a bit busy, but we've always been seated quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Attentive Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Even the manager stopped by to see how we liked our food, and gave us two vouchers for $5 off our next visit. We were pleased with the food and the service. My grilled chicken caesar salad was delicious. Good, solid service, food and value for the money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Place Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We discovered this local chain when we moved here 4 years ago and have enjoyed it every since. We eat there at least 4 times a months and have never gotten a bad meal. They add new item several times a year so we never run out of new things to eat. Thanks to all the staff!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.