We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolce Freddo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Freddo Gelato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dolce Freddo Gelato
300 Merrimack St, Methuen, MA 01844-6504
978-686-1822
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Methuen
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Lawrence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dolce Freddo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Tucked away in an obscure strip mall is this hidden gem. You could easily pass by this little hole in the wall I refer to as "heaven".
The staff ALWAYS super friendly.
The establishment very clean.
The gelato....sublime. Some of my favorites include pink grapefruit (OMG)!!, hazelnut, coffee, lemon (OMG), salted caramel - well I could go on and on just get there and experiment. They are always coming up with new flavors.
It's a bit on the pricey side but let me tell you - once you have your first bite, you'll agree with me that it was worth every single penny paid!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“DELISH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Methuen is lucky to have this gem! Dolce Freddo Gelato has the single best Gelato around.
Don't by fooled by others...this is the real deal! The flavor I think is BETTER than regular run of the mill ice cream. I love ice cream but Gelato brings the flavor out in a different way. Less fat too! Oh yeah and don't be fooled by the portion size...this stuff is that flavorful. Eating with those small spoons just adds to the whole experience. Always a joy to visit here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“After Dinner Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a hard time finding the place at night, but the gelato was well worth the search. There were so many flavors to choose from that it was difficult to make a decision, but I ended up with the chocolate (always my favorite) and my husband had the coffee. We ordered coffee (an expresso and a latte) to go with the gelatos and it, too, was superb. And as was noted in some of the other reviews, the staff is SO friendly...we were treated so well. It was perfect ending to a wonderful evening in Methune! If you are in the vicinity and like a good gelato or coffee served by friendly staff, Dolce Freddo's is the place to go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

No one could ask for more than authentic gelato made in an authentic Italian machine by an Italian born and bred man.

The fact that the gelato has far less cream than ice cream allows the flavors to really come out but still not be too strong. Master gelato maker Andrea has a perfect touch.

Many folks love the deep rich chocolate flavors, but I more a fan of the lighter flavors. I recently had the orange creamsicle, which tastes like a high quality orange sherbet.

I also enjoy the non-alcoholic Amaretto flavor and often select the white chocolate peanut butter cup. The tiramisu gelato, which includes Andrea's made-from-scratch tiramisu, is equally good.

Andrea has an equal, and even more rare, talent for finding teens who seem to enjoy their work. They are always helpful and cheerful on even very busy days. (I would be too if I could have the incredible gelato every day.)

Further, the prices are comparable to what you would pay for ice cream of very good, but not as good as gelato, quality.

The Italian cups and neon spoons add to the fun.

Run, do not walk, to the locations in Methuen, Newburyport, and (soon) Portsmouth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What's Not To Love??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

LOVE their gelato...and such friendly service. Don't just eat some there but take some home!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Freddo Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Freddo Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Freddo Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.