We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Close At Your Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
90 Pleasant Valley Street, Methuen, MA 01844
(978) 687-0205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 105 Restaurants in Methuen
Restaurant details
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Look Close At Your Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Olive Garden menu looks good and thats about it. My wife and I thought we would order some thing from take out and eat in the dinning room instead of the kitchen . We opened the bag to plate the meals , had we known we should have us left them in the dog like bowls it came in and ate off the floor . Understanding this is a chain restaurant is not a excuse for poor quality when you charge top dollar . The meal started with stuffed mushrooms they were all right ,but when we went to split the salad we realized it had seen better days like Sunday to bad we were eating it on Tuesday . Now comes the soup my wife orders the chicken gnochi was wallpaper paste with clumps of dried potato . My soup was the pasta e faggolli verry good for a can soup below average for restaurant . Main courses Chicken Scampi tasted good untill you get the red pepper with black mold on it . By that time I had allready eaten the steak tips with cheese tortiloni that was under cooked and was wishing Ilooked a little closer at it . We had been here before had take out and table service it was good . chain restaurant food can be and was good when quality and freshness counted

PS When and if they go back to making food right you will see the plates comming back to the kitchen empty . They come back with food not because portions were to big , because the food stinks

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“overpriced and slow waitstaff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

3rd time here and the prices have gone up while the portion sizes have gotten smaller. We were seated by a very nice woman who said our waitress would be right over. 20 minutes later I stopped a waitress walking by and asked her to find out who can help us, at least get us water or drinks. Same girl came back 10 minutes later and said no one can figure out who has this table so its me. So now, 30 minutes later, we order drinks and dinner. My sister's dinner got screwed up, they forgot to put the shrimp in the SHRIMP dinner. They left it and then came back 15 minutes later and threw some grilled, dried out shimp at her. Tasted like crap. My dinner was good but tiny for $18.95. Service was terrible. Not going back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm not a big fan of Olive Garden, but agreed to meet friends there. I ordered fish. The food was served in a timely fashion and looked appetizing. My fish was fine when it first came but dried out as it cooled. Salad was fine. My husband & daughter both enjoyed their food and especially noted that soup & bread sticks were delicious. Meeting up with friends unseen in ages, we did overstay our welcome but if it bothered the staff, it didn't show. They remained smiling, polite and gracious right up until we left. Not a place (any of them) I choose when it's my choice, but my sister raves about it. Go figure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive for non Authentic Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can you expect from a chain restaurant? Expensive non authentic frozen Italian food. Sure there's plenty of breadsticks and salad...which is great, but the prices for the entrees is just ridiculous. Also, make sure you guzzle down a gallon of water after you eat here, food is packed with sodium. Very very salty. The food is not bad per say, but I would rather pay that kind of money on authentic food that also taste good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant near the Loop Shopping Center. Plenty of menu selections and the management keeps the flow going so that people are seated quickly. I have been to this restaurant many times with work colleagues as well as family. I will keep coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.