We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampstead House Restaurant

The Hampstead House Restaurant
251 Hampstead Street, Methuen, MA 01844
(978) 655-4176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 105 Restaurants in Methuen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The owner greeted us was we walked in. The wait staff was outstanding. Three of us had perfect meals. Nice neat restaurant, a husband & wife team. Well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly wait staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went there last night around 8:00. We had a nice quiet time. The big crowds were gone and the wait staff left us to our selves in a corner booth. They were attentive when they walked by and asked if we wanted some more rolls. I had the fishermans platter. Lightly batter and fresh. My lady friend had fried haddock which she loved. I had 2 mellon ball drinks and she had a martini. The owner stopped by later to see how we were and he chatted a bit. The kitchen staff was able to make some small changes to our menu as we requested. This is off the main path but a nice gem. Will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Often overlooked great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's too bad this restaurant is off the "beaten path" as it's a great little find. The prices are very reasonable, the food is always great and great service too. Love, love, love their chicken/lemon soup...It's always on the Special Board!! Try it, you'll like it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Methuen, MA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This location has hosted several restaurants during the many years I have lived in Methuen. Probably because of its location, which isn't inconvenient ... it just doesn't stand out.

We have driven by the newest restaurant in this location several times. Last Saturday, we were about to drive by again when my wife said we should "try it sometime." I said that there was no time like the present, pulled a U-turn and we went in.

We were welcomed warmly by the attentive wait-staff. For starters, we ordered a couple of cocktails which came out quickly. My wife decided to order their traditional Greek salad as an appetizer. It was fabulous. Note that the traditional Greek salad does not come with lettuce. It is a combination of fresh cucumbers, tomatoes, feta cheese, pitted calamata olives, green peppers and red onion (which she had them leave off) and a delicious greek dressing. She couldn't stop raving about it.

For dinner, she ordered their grilled salmon with sweet potato fries and roasted vegetables. I decided to go for the broiled scallops with sweet potato fries and a Caesar salad. Both entrees were perfect, and the sweet potato fries are probably about the best I've ever had. Her entree was only $16 (which includes two sides) and mine was just $20 (also including two side orders).

Sides available to choose from included: Red bliss garlic mashed potatoes, fries, rice pilaf, vegetables, cole slaw, garden salad or Caesar salad. (Sweet potato fries were a slight upcharge).

This is not a fancy place, but it is clean, homey, and has excellent food at great prices. We had only two things that we could find fault with: My wife's cocktail (one of their specialty martinis) didn't have quite the right mix of ingredients. There was a little too much of something (or not enough) and it reminded her of cough syrup. We see that a lot. And her salmon was ever so slightly overcooked. When she mentioned it to the wait staff instead of making excuses they thanked her profusely for her feedback and said that the chef loves to hear any feedback, especially when something isn't perfect.

This place is in Hampstead Street Methuen, right off Route 97 which cuts through Salem NH. Give it a try and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hampstead House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hampstead House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampstead House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.