We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Lively Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Cottage Restaurant and Pub

The Irish Cottage Restaurant and Pub
1111 Riverside Dr, Methuen, MA 01844-2240
978-208-4347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Methuen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Lively Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Most of the food is cooked with beer and the natives are very lively. This is a sports bar near Boston. Need I say more? The food was excellent and the pricing right. The staff was exceptionally friendly. However, the girls need to sweep the floor a bit and the location is pretty terrible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, beer & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went here 2X last weekend because we liked it so much. The food is delish. On the first night I had turkey tips that were out of this world with baked potato and perfectly cooked asparagus. The second night I had a cottage burger that was quite possibly the BEST burger I've ever add. They went the extra mile and buttered, then grilled the roll. Every beer has a different type of glass it seemed. We had a male bartender the first night and sadly forgot his name but he was great. Live, Irish music was a nice touch. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time visit and WON'T be our last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just came back from lunch we both had Reuben sandwich, mine
with sweet potatoe fries and his with onion rings. The food is
awesome cornbeef was REAL brisket not deli sliced. Service was
quick and very friendly waitress. Definetly we will return.
LOTS to choose from on menu even breakfast menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An Irish Pub without the airfare and currency conversion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Irish Cottage in Methuen is a nice place for breakfast, lunch, or dinner or to just grab a pint. I recently came back from Ireland and this is as authentic an Irish Pub as you can find. It's nothing fancy from the outside and is somewhat hidden behind a gas station but step inside the doors and you'll find an authentic Irish atmosphere, great food, and a friendly, attentive staff. My wife and I have been going here since it opened. At first we were hoping enough people would discover this place so that they would be able to stay in business. Well it happened - go early to get a good parking spot! When you see a restaurant packed every night then enough said, there's a reason it's always packed with customers. If you want less of a crowd, go early in the morning for breakfast. The big secret with the Irish Cottage is that although it's a popular spot for dinner and a beer, it is also hands down the best restaurant in the area for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went for dinner and stayed to hear the music. The food was great, service was quick and friendly. The music was great and the crowd was lots of fun. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Cottage Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Irish Cottage Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Cottage Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.