We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larsen's Fish Market

Larsen's Fish Market
56 Basin Rd, Dutcher's Dock, Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535
+1 508-645-2680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Menemsha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've just spent 2 fantastic weeks on the Vineyard and this place is my best souvenir, well at least my best culinary souvenir :) I could not get enough of their amazing selection of freshly caught fish and seafood. You can take your feast home for your dinner party or enjoy lunch outside on the picnic tables overlooking the Harbour or on the beach a few steps away! The only problem (for a French man anyway) is that they don't sell wine in Menemsha so don't forget to bring yours and enjoy the best oysters on this side of the world! Well done guys I'll be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    31
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lobster Special- Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Husband and I shared a lobster special (a fresh lobster cooked to order) on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon. Our food was prepared quickly and was cooked to perfection. We loved eating outside with the gorgeous view of the water.

I only wish I had gotten my own so I didn't have to share. Also some napkins would have been helpful. I was just handed a plastic fork and one wet nap. Still, it was so worth the mess!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fish always fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nothing else to say except staff is always extremely helpful as well. Nothing to dislike and it's very popular with folks having Larsen's prepared lobster dinners at picnic tables. We will do that next time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Apparently the little harbour next to Larsen's was the venue for filming a lot of the scenes in the Jaws movie. It's certainly a lovely spot to sit outside on a sunny day and chow down on a range of local seafood delights, especially the buttered lobster rolls, a clam chowder, or a feed of fresh crab meat. Very few drinks are available there but that's not a problem. It's a place for a quick bite in an iconic setting. If you're travelling around Martha's Vineyard, make sure you have a car. There are taxis and buses but a car will give you the most flexibility. Most towns are fairly small and you'll want to move on regularly to see more of the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only raw seafoods. Do Not eat cooked foods”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We came by due to many great reviews on here but seem like reviews are only trustful toward raw seafoods. We order a crab cake, clam chowder and a lobster roll. I cant believe how bad they were. The crab cake was not crispy, damp, cold and taste like all powder but no crabmeat. Clam chowder was watery ..super thin watery.. all full with hard potato. It was horrible cooked. Lobster roll was reheated in the microwave with the bottom half of the bread was wet. Afterall the raw seafood market seems really fresh to me. I would never recommend come here for cooked foods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larsen's Fish Market also viewed

Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Larsen's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsen's Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.