We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reunion meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alicante Mediterranean Grille

Alicante Mediterranean Grille
84 Uxbridge Rd, Mendon, MA 01756-1046
508-634-8188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Mendon
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Port Aransas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“reunion meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Attended a class reunion at this restaurant. Service was excellent and the food outstanding. Spacious private room provided for party. Food served family style so we were able to sample different entries. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Wished we lived in this area so that we could go there just for dinner. Scenery was spectacular overlooking the lake with the leaves starting to turn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    17
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The weather on our first visit to Alicante (in mid-August) was so fine we decided to sit on the deck. It is small, the tables merely sufficient, and in view of the road, but the lake view, weather, and great service made up for the shortcomings. We found the cocktails well-made, the menu full of intriguing dishes, and the atmosphere a nice balance between casual comfort and fine dining treatment. The seafood risotto was delicious and the portion size sufficient. We arrived early (before six) and enjoyed a cocktail before ordering, This worked out well since the parking lot is small, and this popular spot filled up quickly. We will definitely return to enjoy dining inside in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I admit that when friends recommended Alicante, we were skeptical that there really was an excellent restaurant in Mendon. A recent dinner, however, convinced us that Alicante can compete with Boston. Knowing that the restaurant does not take reservations for six or fewer, we arrived around 6:15 on a Wednesday evening in late August, thinking that there would be few people eating there. We realized how wrong we were when we saw that the parking lot was full and cars were even parked on the side of the road. But we were fortunate to get a good table by the window which has a lovely view over Lake Nipmuc. The meal was excellent. The lobster bisque was particularly good and the seafood dishes we chose reminded us of some wonderful meals we had in Portugal. The wine choices were interesting and fairly priced. Service was attentive but not overbearing. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best of metrowest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hands down a favorite restaurant. I hadn't been in awhile and was thrilled that the quality was still the best. Very nice staff, servers go beyond to make sure you are happy with your meal etc. They only take reservations for tables over six. So being a high quality restaurant in a small suburban area, and a Saturday night, we had to wait. Very worth the wait. Some of the varieties at our table were salmon, chicken parmesan, veal, and I had a wonderful mussels, scallops, combination dish. Everyone was very happy with the service, meal, ambiance and an added touch was fireworks we could view from across the lake that the restaurant is located on! Lovely evening at a great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Ma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great First Visit to Alicante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a day spent in the Mendon, MA area, we got to Alicante around 5:15pm. This restaurant was recommended to us by Jim and Mary Guido from The Tasting Room in Milford. MA. (If you haven't been yet, get your butts over there. They sell top notch wines and the tastings are free. It's basically impossible to walk out without buying something, be it wine or olive oil.)
Valets park the car for you, since their lot is oddly shaped and not particularly large. Once we got inside we were greeted by very friendly hostesses with big smiles, one of whom brought us to our table, which had a great view of Lake Nipmuc.
(I'm being told that dinner is ready, so I'll write quickly). We had the stuffed artichoke appetizer, which was very tasty and has a great sauce. My wife ordered the past special with black pepper fettucine, white beans, broccoli rabe, sweet sausage, lots of garlic and shrimp. I had the special with yellow fin tuna with a light herb crust, blueberry and mango vinaigrette reduction with pesto spaghetti and salad greens. Everything was fantastic. The presentation was nice, food tasted great and cooked perfectly.
Tiramisu was pretty good for dessert, not the best we've ever had, but tasty.

Even though it's an hour drive for us, we'll go back. Next time, we'll probably bring some family members with us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alicante Mediterranean Grille also viewed

 

Been to Alicante Mediterranean Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicante Mediterranean Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.