We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good value known by all the locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell's Restaurant Incorporated

Lowell's Restaurant Incorporated
75 Cape Rd, Mendon, MA 01756-1001
(508) 473-1073
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Mendon
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Medway, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good value known by all the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We often grab lunch or dinner at Lowell's. The wait staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good American food that's well prepared. For our dinner last week, I had the Quuen Prime Rib a $14.95 special that iChat and my guest enjoyed their well known pot roast dinner. We splurged on coffee & dessert -the carrot cake was great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unremarkable and forgettable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here for dinner today. We were in the area after visiting the zoo and decided to give a local place a try. I'm sorry to say, I was totally unimpressed. The price was more than reasonable, but it wasn't worth it. The decor was very stale and they somehow managed to hang every picture in the place crookedly. Our server had just started the previous week and was nice enough, but was improperly trained. He was completely unfamiliar with the regular menu and beer selection.

We ordered nachos as an appetizer. The chips were crushed into small pieces- we had to actually use our forks to scoop up the nacho mush and eat it. I had the roast chicken with mashed sweet potatoes for an entree. The chicken was dry, but the sweet potatoes were delicious. My boyfriend ordered the pork chop special, and it was cooked correctly, but unremarkable in flavor.

There was nothing terrible or even really bad about our experience here, but it was still very unsatisfying. We won't be back.


    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“World's Absolute BEST Onion Rings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everything on Lowell's menu is great, but the onion rings can't be beat!!! Thin sliced succulent onions, lightly battered - simply the best anywhere! The baked haddock is another favorite of our, in fact all the seafood here is exceptional! As is the Philly Cheese Steak. And, if you saved any room for dessert, there is an old fashioned outdoor New England ice cream stand as well! Parking is always available and it's conveniently located on Rte 140. This is a family run restaurant that really cares about the customers!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Their menu is all about comfort food. From meatloaf and burgers to chicken parm and salad. I have gone there for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have always been very happy with my meal. The service has always been great, fast, and friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I was unimpressed with the very mediocre service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

While my pot roast was quite good and the portion generous,
it would have helped to have had an attentive waitress. Not
once did she, nor her ponytail, return to ask us if everything was
okay....basic waitressing 101. We are not talking busy either, there
were just a few tables occupied and none of them seemed to be hers.
Instead she spent her time in the room with the bar and it took almost a
full ten minutes to get a cup of coffee. I don't plan to return to a restaurant
where I am just an after thought. Is the wait staff spread out too thin in this
place? Food saved it from just a two star rating.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowell's Restaurant Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Lowell's Restaurant Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell's Restaurant Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.