We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel for an affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Medford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Medford to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Medford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Riverside Drive, Medford, MA 02155 (Formerly AmeriSuites Boston Medford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional hotel for an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Medford for 8 nights, with my sister and my 7month old. Although we were in Boston for a sad occasion (my grandfather's funeral) I cannot say enough good things about the high standard of this hotel. We originally choose it for the kitchenette facility in the rooms, which are great for preparing baby food. But have to say we were pleasantly surprised - our stay at hyatt place was exceptional, from the friendly, helpful staff, superb, clean rooms, delicious breakfast spread and covienient shuttle service, there is just so much that contributed to making our stay an absolute pleasure.

I highly recommend this hotel.

To add a balanced view, the only things that may not be ideal is that the hotel is not in the centre of Boston, but it's not that far away on public transport. Even better if you have a car and I think the hotel offers free parking! Also there was no room service or restaurant, so you have to pop out to get food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    177
    48
    21
    8
See reviews for
152
90
18
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this hotel via Hotwire at $113 a night tax and fees included. Room consisted of a mini-suite and was nicely appointed with wet bar and larger than average flat screen TV. Wet bar in the room had a mini-refrigerator. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Free breakfast was mostly continental but did include waffles and egg McMuffin type sandwiches. Exercise room was cardio only. No resistance machines or free weights. The shuttle will take you to the closest "T" station but you will need to take an additional city bus (free) to the next "T" station as the original station is closed on weekends. Room furniture was a bit worn but I felt matched the price paid for the room. I would give this hotel a 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Room #501 was away from elevator and ice machine and therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a last minute stop due to a funeral and we got a top floor room with a view of the city. room was huge and nice. clean and comfy. Breakfast was good, lots of regular options and some home made things too. Its located right off 93 with free parking. Only negative was during a thunderstorm the satellite tv kept going in and out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Calif
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

First the good:

Staff at front desk was great! Very helpful and professional. Breakfast was decent. Location was good for a walk into Medford. The shuttle to the "T" train into Boston was always available and on the pick-up back to the hotel, always prompt after we called for a pick-up.

The room was fine, but we were given a "physically impaired" one, which was a little awkward with the room layout not being as nice as that of our friends who got a regular room. This situation might have been because it appeared that the hotel was full due to Tuft U. parents' weekend and maybe some other events.

Which brings me to my only serious complaint- the price! We were charged $300/night, (through Expedia), and this was the "rack rate" posted on the back of the door. The price is way too high- should have been in the $150/night range. Another slight problem was our trying to use the "T" system into Boston- the staff should explain to everyone being shuttled to the transit system how to use the automated vending machines with the "Charlie" cards, etc. Would have saved us a confusing time at the Medford station which is unmanned.

That is why I am giving this only 3 stars.

Food Sniffer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is a bit expensive, but it's a bargain compared to most others in the area. The rooms are enormous, and there's a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in Somerville/Medford anytime you want, which was extremely convenient. The breakfast leaves something to be desired - there are a lot of options, but everything on the hot side looked downright gross. That said, the more conventional continental breakfast items were fine. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
588 helpful votes 588 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great option if you want to avoid the out-of-control Boston hotel prices. FREE and plentiful parking, free wifi, 10 minutes drive to Logan airport, spacious rooms, walking distance to some decent restaurants and pharmacy - perfect! If you don't want to drive into the city, the hotel shuttle can help, or you can easily take a bus from very close by into Davis Square and transfer to the subway.

My double room was enormous by Boston standards, with a nice comfortable lounge area, huge TV (swivel to either beds or couch area was handy), desk, and small kitchenette with mini-fridge and sink. Plenty of room to spread out and I liked the throw blanket to use on the couch. Beds were clean and comfortable, really nice pillows. The only thing that needs some work are the bathrooms - there was some mildew on the tiles, rust/poorly repaired bits in the shower, etc that were below the standard of the rest of the room. Road noise from the highway could also be a problem for some - they really need soundproofing on the windows. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs because even with the fan going, traffic was still audible throughout the night. Breakfast was nothing to write home about - there is inadequate seating and the whole thing was so cramped that I decided it wasn't worth the effort just for an English muffin and skipped it the rest of my stay to eat elsewhere. Finally, I would suggest adding the security feature of making elevators accessible only to keycard holders. The hotel is very busy and has access from adjoining parking lot that can't be monitored - keycard access to elevators would provide an additional level of security, although I stress I didn't feel unsafe at any time.

On the positive side, staff were extremely friendly - lots of young, energetic people who made a great impression! Overall, I think this hotel is a gem - rooms are at least 1/2 the price you would pay in downtown Boston, and much bigger. Throw in the free parking and this is a great choice!!

TIP - for inexpensive and delicious Mexican food, try Tenoch. It's a 5 minute walk down the same side of the road as the hotel - excellent food, dinner for under 10 bucks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were looking all over for an affordable Boston-area hotel to stay at for our nephew's wedding. We had tried several of the consolidator sites and even tried bidding for our 3-night stay, but nothing came to fruition until we started poking around on actual hotel sites. We came across the Hyatt Place in Medford and we were pleasantly surprised at what our nightly rate was going to be by pre-paying for our stay. We read other consumer reviews of the hotel and decided to give this hotel a try.

We were flying in late and needed to make sure that we wouldn't encounter any issues with the hotel by checking in so late. When we arrived at the hotel, the man at the front desk (we think his name is Steve), was very cordial and helpful with great sense of humour.

Our room was pleasant, with a kitchenette - something so many hotels lack. The only "weird" part about the room was that the bathroom vanity and sink were part of the sleeping area.

The bathroom did need some attention: The floor tiles were separating from the grout; the tub had wear in the enamel and had a granular substance on the bottom; mold appeared to be growing in the corner of the shower stall. The wallpaper was beginning to peel as well. Also, it didn't appear as though the toilet paper holders had recently been cleaned as there was a lot of old dust build-up on the toilet paper holder. But overall, it was better than it could have been.

The Hyatt Place promises a hot breakfast included with the room rate, and it delivers on that promise. Guests can choose from the standard continental breakfast items to the hot skillet offerings. There's always someone from the staff keeping a close eye to ensure that guests are not without. Because breakfast is served buffet-style, the kitchen area can become crowded, but, again, overall it was better than what I've experienced at other hotels.

The only down-fall of the Hyatt Place is that they don't offer an airport shuttle. It's definitely something that I think could be of great service to guests when flying. They do, however, offer a shuttle to the subway which is available to guests between 7am - 9pm.

The Hyatt Place is a quick and easy drive into downtown Boston. The location of this hotel for the price makes this a smart pick for any traveler who is looking for a clean and comfortable hotel. For those traveling by car, the hotel offers complimentary onsite parking. Another plus.

Enjoy your stay in Boston!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of downtown Boston. Always nice to see that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Medford

Address: 116 Riverside Drive, Medford, MA 02155 (Formerly AmeriSuites Boston Medford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Medford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.