We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and The Not so Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Medford

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Medford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Medford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Riverside Drive, Medford, MA 02155 (Formerly AmeriSuites Boston Medford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Medford
Ventura, Calif
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Good and The Not so Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

First the good:

Staff at front desk was great! Very helpful and professional. Breakfast was decent. Location was good for a walk into Medford. The shuttle to the "T" train into Boston was always available and on the pick-up back to the hotel, always prompt after we called for a pick-up.

The room was fine, but we were given a "physically impaired" one, which was a little awkward with the room layout not being as nice as that of our friends who got a regular room. This situation might have been because it appeared that the hotel was full due to Tuft U. parents' weekend and maybe some other events.

Which brings me to my only serious complaint- the price! We were charged $300/night, (through Expedia), and this was the "rack rate" posted on the back of the door. The price is way too high- should have been in the $150/night range. Another slight problem was our trying to use the "T" system into Boston- the staff should explain to everyone being shuttled to the transit system how to use the automated vending machines with the "Charlie" cards, etc. Would have saved us a confusing time at the Medford station which is unmanned.

That is why I am giving this only 3 stars.

Food Sniffer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    163
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
134
80
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is a bit expensive, but it's a bargain compared to most others in the area. The rooms are enormous, and there's a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in Somerville/Medford anytime you want, which was extremely convenient. The breakfast leaves something to be desired - there are a lot of options, but everything on the hot side looked downright gross. That said, the more conventional continental breakfast items were fine. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
604 helpful votes 604 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great option if you want to avoid the out-of-control Boston hotel prices. FREE and plentiful parking, free wifi, 10 minutes drive to Logan airport, spacious rooms, walking distance to some decent restaurants and pharmacy - perfect! If you don't want to drive into the city, the hotel shuttle can help, or you can easily take a bus from very close by into Davis Square and transfer to the subway.

My double room was enormous by Boston standards, with a nice comfortable lounge area, huge TV (swivel to either beds or couch area was handy), desk, and small kitchenette with mini-fridge and sink. Plenty of room to spread out and I liked the throw blanket to use on the couch. Beds were clean and comfortable, really nice pillows. The only thing that needs some work are the bathrooms - there was some mildew on the tiles, rust/poorly repaired bits in the shower, etc that were below the standard of the rest of the room. Road noise from the highway could also be a problem for some - they really need soundproofing on the windows. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs because even with the fan going, traffic was still audible throughout the night. Breakfast was nothing to write home about - there is inadequate seating and the whole thing was so cramped that I decided it wasn't worth the effort just for an English muffin and skipped it the rest of my stay to eat elsewhere. Finally, I would suggest adding the security feature of making elevators accessible only to keycard holders. The hotel is very busy and has access from adjoining parking lot that can't be monitored - keycard access to elevators would provide an additional level of security, although I stress I didn't feel unsafe at any time.

On the positive side, staff were extremely friendly - lots of young, energetic people who made a great impression! Overall, I think this hotel is a gem - rooms are at least 1/2 the price you would pay in downtown Boston, and much bigger. Throw in the free parking and this is a great choice!!

TIP - for inexpensive and delicious Mexican food, try Tenoch. It's a 5 minute walk down the same side of the road as the hotel - excellent food, dinner for under 10 bucks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were looking all over for an affordable Boston-area hotel to stay at for our nephew's wedding. We had tried several of the consolidator sites and even tried bidding for our 3-night stay, but nothing came to fruition until we started poking around on actual hotel sites. We came across the Hyatt Place in Medford and we were pleasantly surprised at what our nightly rate was going to be by pre-paying for our stay. We read other consumer reviews of the hotel and decided to give this hotel a try.

We were flying in late and needed to make sure that we wouldn't encounter any issues with the hotel by checking in so late. When we arrived at the hotel, the man at the front desk (we think his name is Steve), was very cordial and helpful with great sense of humour.

Our room was pleasant, with a kitchenette - something so many hotels lack. The only "weird" part about the room was that the bathroom vanity and sink were part of the sleeping area.

The bathroom did need some attention: The floor tiles were separating from the grout; the tub had wear in the enamel and had a granular substance on the bottom; mold appeared to be growing in the corner of the shower stall. The wallpaper was beginning to peel as well. Also, it didn't appear as though the toilet paper holders had recently been cleaned as there was a lot of old dust build-up on the toilet paper holder. But overall, it was better than it could have been.

The Hyatt Place promises a hot breakfast included with the room rate, and it delivers on that promise. Guests can choose from the standard continental breakfast items to the hot skillet offerings. There's always someone from the staff keeping a close eye to ensure that guests are not without. Because breakfast is served buffet-style, the kitchen area can become crowded, but, again, overall it was better than what I've experienced at other hotels.

The only down-fall of the Hyatt Place is that they don't offer an airport shuttle. It's definitely something that I think could be of great service to guests when flying. They do, however, offer a shuttle to the subway which is available to guests between 7am - 9pm.

The Hyatt Place is a quick and easy drive into downtown Boston. The location of this hotel for the price makes this a smart pick for any traveler who is looking for a clean and comfortable hotel. For those traveling by car, the hotel offers complimentary onsite parking. Another plus.

Enjoy your stay in Boston!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of downtown Boston. Always nice to see that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For our recent trip to Boston we knew we did not want to spend a ton of money on a hotel room AND then parking on top of that. We found the Hyatt Place, Medford only 10 minutes outside the city to be the best of what we were looking for. The rooms were big, with a huge sofa in one room, a desk area and a seperate area for the bed. The free parking and free breakfast were nice touches and the food was good as far as the free breakfast genre goes.

The money we saved on parking and a smaller hotel room downtown was over a hundred dollars a night. Within 20 minutes we were at Walden Pond, 10 minutes we were at Fanueil Hall and made it to Logan in under 20, how great is that? I never felt we were missing out on anything.

Now, for some negative comments: the upper floors smelled of cigarette smoke, every though it is a no-smoking floor. Perhaps all the smoke filters up? I don't know, but that was not pleasant. It was primarily in the hallways, but the first room we had also had a smell to it. We ended up moving rooms for another reason and it was much lower and the halls and room smelled fine.

The big couch was rather worn and could use some new cushions.

Overall, good value for a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As noted, best location ($) for visiting Tufts parents, family and friends. Close to the T (hotel has shuttle) for a short 15-20 minute ride to downtown Boston. Lots of free parking and walking distance to practically anything you need, restaurants, pharmacy, etc.
Hotel itself is a standard Hyatt Place, with consistently clean rooms, quiet and comfortable sleeping and of course, the more than adequate breakfast buffet. The staff was also friendly and prompt to respond to special requests for extra bedding, etc.
Hotel fills up quickly during graduations, freshmen orientation week, etc. though so be forewarned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly suburbs
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here while visiting colleges. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, but I loathed the layout with the bathroom and sink across from the beds. The wifi and parking free and the free "hot" breakfast we had was the same as described in recent reviews. The breakfast sandwiches are very processed and contain meat. Good location, might stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Medford

Address: 116 Riverside Drive, Medford, MA 02155 (Formerly AmeriSuites Boston Medford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Medford 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Medford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.