We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the clams!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lantana Cafe

Lantana Cafe
417 Salem St, Medford, MA 02155-3337
781-393-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 126 Restaurants in Medford
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the clams!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This restaurant usually surprises me. The steak is great. The pasta is great too. The steamed clams were fantastic too! I really enjoy this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Medford Italian eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited this little Italian restaurant one Sunday night when neither of us felt like cooking. My seafood diablo dish was okay, but skimpy on the fetuccine underneath. The decor was dated and the restaurant felt cramped even though it was a quiet, uncrowded night. I guess my overall impression was that the food was okay, but not that great. It was pricey given the limitations in the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Just the facts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After walking by this place a few times we decided to try it, it looked decent from the outside however we were completely disappointed, the decor was old, the tables sticky, the food tasteless, the wine was flat as if the bottle had been open for a while, the staff was not familiar with the menu etc. this place needs an extreme makeover and a far better chef...save your money this place is not worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little expensive for pretty good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went here on a week night, it was almost empty. It is not a very big place, interior is dated. The staff was friendly, but it took a long time to get our food. The food was pretty good, but a little pricey for pretty good italian. Overall too many other choices for me to highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“italian food, done just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I went with my husband on a Sunday afternoon to check out the place and use our $25 coupon from Restaurants.com. I ordered vegetarian dishes, hubby went with meat. My tortellini with pesto were perfection! (sublime! magnificent!) Hubby said they were ok, not impressive, but he says ok to most food (I have yet to see him compliment a meal.) His meal (I cannot recall what it was other than it had beef) was also "ok" in his words. He also had a house soup, which that day was a lentil mix. It was a bit too spicy for me, but great for my husband.
The appetizers were a mesclun salad (ok in my eyes, but nothing special) and rolled eggplant (wonderful!). The complimentary bread with dipping oil was a very pleasant surprise: pizza strips as bread and fresh herbs in the oil.
We also ordered a tiramisu for dessert. It was ok. The whipped cream seemed to me hand-made, but I'm not sure about the pastry, it could have been store-bought. However, I'm no great connoisseur of sweets, so I could be wrong. Regardless of where the tiramisu came from, it was just fine as it was.
All in all, we were quite happy with the meal.
The service was excellent, the waiter (Sam?) was extremely attentive, and the atmosphere was quite pleasant.
The bill, after discount, came to $55. You be the judge if this is too much, too little or just right for this meal. Since we only go out to eat about twice a year (yeah, you read that right!) it was ok for us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantana Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lantana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.