We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mattapoisett Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattapoisett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mattapoisett Inn
Save
You added The Mattapoisett Inn to your Saves list
23 Water Street, Mattapoisett, MA 02739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mattapoisett B&B and Inns
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to thoroughly enjoy a 4-night stay at the Mattapoisett Inn. This was our second stay at the Inn, which is located on a beautiful site that is centrally located for easy access to Cape Cod and the New Bedford/Fairhaven, MA areas. As with our prior stay, the quality and comfort of the accommodations were excellent and the very well-presented gourmet breakfasts were fantastic! Deanne is a most gracious, capable and interesting host, and we very much look forward to our next stay with her at the Inn!

Ron & Kathy F.

Room Tip: The "Sail Loft" on the second floor, with its private bathroom, is very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped in Mattapoisett harbor during week sailing trip to avoid a storm. By chance the inn had a room available and it turned out to be a truly wonderful experience. The owner was extremely helpful in organizing our last minute situation and it turned out that the Mattapoisett boat yard with moorings was able to drop us off practically in front of the inn. This makes the inn a valuable location for boaters who would like have a destination to sail to or need a location in route. The boat yard is as helpful and friendly as the inn to add to the experience. For bikers there is an old rail trail that is perfect that will take you to Fairhaven. Provisioning? the town as a great cheese etc. shop, Town Wharf General Store, and not far is the best seafood at Turks I have ever experienced in their shop to take to the boat or eat in. The rooms are charming and the one we had offered a wonderful view of the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely delightful spot in a beautiful little town- the inn was impeccable with charming decor and garden was lovely - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and conversation with our hostess and other guests over a delicious breakfast.. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We intended to stay two nights (to witness the birth of a grandchild), and stayed three. This is a top notch Inn, comparable with the best of Carmel and other dream vacation spots. The inn is roomy and beautiful, with an interesting boathouse history. Inside, it is sunlit, beautifully modernized (including wireless internet) and decorated, plus a garden worth a visit on its own. Deanne is skillful at conversation as well as gourmet breakfasts, and helpful in every way she can. The bed (in the Nantucket room, yes, the big bathroom was separate) was the most comfortable B&B bed we've occupied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've stayed in the Mattapoisett Inn twice and will definitely return. It is a charming inn with very comfortable rooms and fantastic views of the harbor and gorgeous gardens! It's quiet yet still in the center of town. We've stayed in the Nantucket Room both times. It's a small room but the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is across the hall but that really isn't a problem. Just bring a robe! The highlight is breakfast. Deanne is an excellent cook and I can't remember having a more delicious breakfast anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good walks, good food, good reading and good naps - just the r & r we needed. We just spent a very pleasant 2 days at this inn. We scrapped plans for various more vigorous activities in the area, preferring instead to take walks to the nearby lighthouse, walks through the village admiring homes and gardens, walks to the beach and wetlands. We watched sailboats bob in the bay, read Hilary Mantel and took lots of naps. Deanne cooked delicious, substantial breakfasts and recommended local eateries (don't miss Turks.) We stayed in the spacious Sail Loft room; although a bit pricey it offered a charming view of the harbor and village residents walking their dogs. If you hate the crowds and the touristy commercialism of the Cape, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The Sail Loft is large and sunny, with good views. Others seemed attractive too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The location of this B&B is ideal: it sits in a charming old town and is right by the water, yet it's convenient for seeing the sights in New Bedford. The innkeeper, Deanne, is very pleasant and helpful, and offers a delicious hot breakfast. The common areas of the house are very appealing. My only hesitation is about the room we stayed in. The Nantucket room has a lovely private bath but it is not attached to the bedroom; you have to cross the main hall at the top of the stairs to get to it -- it's a bit annoying to have to dress to go take a shower. In addition, we found the walls thin and the floors noisy. I would recommend staying in the Sail Loft room, which is much bigger and does not share any walls with neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: Try the Sail Loft Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mattapoisett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mattapoisett Inn

Address: 23 Water Street, Mattapoisett, MA 02739
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Mattapoisett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mattapoisett
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mattapoisett Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.