We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and fresh fried seafood away from coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke's Seafood

Cooke's Seafood
7 Ryans Way, Mashpee, MA 02649
(508) 477-9595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Mashpee
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fast and fresh fried seafood away from coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have been to Cooke's a few times over the years since we purchased a timeshare in Mashpee, and their seafood has consistently been fresh and tasty (maybe not the healthiest whether fried or broiled, but it's only an occasional treat!) for years. Love the bar addition even with self-service dining room. Reasonable prices especially with the portions, classic fried seafood menu with no real surprises or new additions. As always with our restaurant reviews, I want to commend the staff for great allergy awareness and being able to use a segregated cooking space for a fish dinner for our daughter with multiple food allergies, especially in a high-allergen kitchen (wheat and eggs from batter, shellfish). Still our favorite location for this small chain - will be there again this summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Came highly rated, but I didn't get it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Granted, I am not one to overindulge on fried foods. But I do enjoy local haunts. Cooke's came highly rated by friends who come to the area often. The food was okay, but nothing like other area holes in the wall. It seemed to me like the Papa Gino's of seafood. The food was okay

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just spent 3 days on the Cape and ate @ Cooke's twice in 2 days. It was lunchtime and we ate very well. We had fish and chips, baked scrod and stripped clams. All tasty and nice-sized portions. Great onion rings. The next day I had a child's menu clam plate and it was very generous.The chowder was good and the lobster bisque was good but not served hot. We will definitely return again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“fast, decent fish and hamburgers aren't bad either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The prices are affordable. It is counter service and the service is not as courteous as you might want, but for what it is, it is fine. You order at the counter and then they deliver it to your table.
The fish is fresh and tasty. There is lots of fried food on the menu as well as grilled fish. It is very kid friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Didn't know they had a bar ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cooke's is a longstanding small chain of seafood restaurants. This one in Mashpee is very good, and has a full bar. You come in and order at the counter, and pay, and then the food is brought to your table. In addition, there is a full bar and you can get decent draught beer at a reasonable price. Servings are large, especially of the french fries, which are good. Onion rings are the typical US version very heavy on batter with just soft onion inside, as opposed to the typical European style lightly floured and then onion crispy. The scrod I had was good cod, cooked appropriately, but not a huge amount. Clam chowder is very creamy, maybe somewhat fewer clams than in some places. However, prices are very reasonable and I recommend Cooke's if you want fried seafood and feel like a drink with it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooke's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Cooke's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.