We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream and more ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour

Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour
22 Falmouth Rd, Route 28 Mashpee/Cotuit Town Line, Mashpee, MA 02649-2743
+1 508-477-5553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 restaurants in Mashpee
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Come taste "quite possibly the best ice cream you ever tasted". We constantly are winning awards for our old fashioned ice cream served with old fashioned service to match. We offer everything possible with ice cream. From "The Worlds Smallest Cone" to Frappes, Malts and Sundaes to the gigantic "Arctic Circle Sundae" with 20 scoops of ice cream.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ice Cream and more ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want great ice cream and lots of choices in flavors and servings types, this is the place to go if you're anywhere in the area of Falmouth to Hyannis and riding on Route 28. It is just a couple of miles east of the Mashpee Rotary.

They offer a wide variety of very tasty flavors in cones, cups and waffle bowls as wells as ice cream drinks. I love their frozen pudding and black raspberry chip yogurt and we've tasted many other flavors and never been disappointed.

There is often a line, but it moves pretty quickly.

While you're there, take in all the Coca-Cola memorabilia; its neat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themarkel, Owner at Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We never get tired of hearing that our hard work and consistency is appreciated you our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    43
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love Polar Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Polar Cave has the best ice cream on Cape! The owner is almost always behind the counter scooping! Gotta love how the owner doesn't mind getting their hands dirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themarkel, Owner at Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Susan, that is so nice of you to say and recognize. I work hard to ensure that the level of service is maintained at the highest levels. The kids that work with me are like a second family and we work well as a team. The interaction with our guests is so special to us and many friendships have been formed over the years. Next time you are in the shop please introduce yourself to me so I may thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots of Ice Cream for the $$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Last week we were in West Yarmouth and saw the Polar Cave location there was open for the season. We had to stop and we were extremely happy we did. The ice cream flavors... Black Raspberry, Moose Tracks, Heavenly Hash, and Maple Walnut were all delicious! The amazing thing was the volume you got. We got two smalls, a medium and a large. The small is the size of most Cape stands large and the large was almost 2/3 of a half gallon, it was HUGE!
Don't miss this place when you are on the Cape!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themarkel, Owner at Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for you kind words Steve.

We pride ourselves in our fair pricing and large portions. When combined with our customer service we strive to be the place to go for the ultimate ice cream experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OMG....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the outside it doesn't look as good as it really is. Once inside you see they have tons of flavors and some very unique ones. I got the Heavenly Hash and it was heavenly! One thing they do that I never have seen before is they make the waffle cones right in front of you. So they are nice and warm. The girls knew everything about every flavor so that was helpful. If I ever get back to the Cape this is a must do again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papabear02649, Manager at Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I am very pleased that you had a pleasant experience on your first visit to Polar Cave. Hoping that you will return in the not too distant future and spread the word to your friends who visit the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I'm lucky enough to live in Mashpee to enjoy Polar Cave on a regular basis. Other than "Can we go swimming?" my kids other OFTEN used phrase is "Can we go to Polar Cave?" Having 4 kids I have been to plenty of ice cream places & none compare to PC!!! The line gets a bit crazy in the summer but if u want the best.......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papabear02649, Owner at Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We try hard to be THE GO TO place for a fun experience and it's always good to hear that we do it well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Mashpee, Cape Cod
Mashpee, Cape Cod
 

Been to Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polar Cave Ice Cream Parlour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.