We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood, Atmosphere and Great Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polcari's Bridgewaye Inn

Polcari's Bridgewaye Inn
1265 Ferry Street, Marshfield, MA 781-834-2020
(781) 834-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Marshfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Seafood, Atmosphere and Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the place for seafood lovers who enjoy great food, low prices, quality service and the most pleasant atmosphere in the South Shore area. Always packed. No reservations. Plan an early lunch or early dinner to avoid waiting. Locals wait and don't complain. In summer months, the long wait is worth it; we always arrrive early and don't wait. In the winter months, after the tourists leave, they still have a large loyal following. Plenty of TV screens to watch sports and enjoy dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent bar service, excellent table service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Bridgewaye this evening. We were welcomed by our server, Lauren S, and she was wonderful throughout the evening. I've never had a drink arrive at my table so fast! She made a special effort to have the fireplace next to our table turned on and even though it was turned off shortly thereafter, she was very attentive to any needs we had. My companion ordered the fisherman's platter (which he's had before and it never disappoints) and I ordered the baked stuffed lobster. I can honestly say that I've never had one as good. It was stuffed with no fewer than four large scallops as well as a whole lobster claw, and the stuffing was tasty and delicious. The lobster tail was perfectly cooked and every forkfull held a delicious portion. Even though the restaurant was busy on a Friday evening, Lauren made us feel welcome for as long as we wanted to stay. Bravo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“Recent Patriots Party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The pizza was verygood,the view was verygood if you happened to have a window seat.The wait staff was to busy to cover our table of five couples.Requested five seperate dinner checks..This could not be accompolished.There was a very Homely brunette with very tight fitting shirt and pants that bulged out at you, who was the rudest bartender i encountered in many years."She asked sarcastically"Are you camping out"words to that effect.This was after the game just finished.You need a shrink on the staff to help this person.We will never step foot in this place again..Thank you and goodbye.AJMN

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting , Delicious Food with Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently went to lunch at the Bridgwaye with three friends.We all enjoyed our food and found the atmosphere to be perfect!! We each ordered something different and were pleasantly satisfied with the portions and taste!!

We will go back again!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“terrible management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I used to go to Bridgeway a long time ago with my father when the older Polcari's were involved. I also used to work there. Was a nice place but the last two times we went there, we didn't enjoy ourselves. The atmosphere is terrible. The management walked around CONSTANTLY with scowls on their faces. Not friendly at all. Made it very uncomfortable. Also, get rid of the seating by the wait station/restrooms. It's a terrible location to set. Seems like it is popular with mostly the Marshfield crowd but I will never go back nor would I recommend it to anyone. Sorry.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polcari's Bridgewaye Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polcari's Bridgewaye Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polcari's Bridgewaye Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.