We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasion place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ember

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ember
459 Plain St, Marshfield, MA 02050-2730
781-834-9159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Marshfield
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Special occasion place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food and service were terrific, however the prices were very high. The atmosphere was very romantic. Definately not a place for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuck in MA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Seafood specials are nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Went back with different friends and tried a sit down meal. Mixed seafood appetizer was very nice and beautifully presented. The Shepherds Pie entree was a deconstruction in theory but, to be accurate, was a decent slab of meat with a side of mashed potatoes on top of sweet corn kernels. It tasted fine but was a disappointment in execution overall.
Had a few drinks and the final bill was staggering. Food was better this time than last but it's still hard to recommend to someone on a budget.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great or not....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Does not have the "feel" of a suburbian restaurant, more upscale trendy city feel.
Food is pricey and I have had extremely good and extremely horrible meals there.
It's a gamble going there as to what kind of service, food you will get.

The bartender and owner Charlie, is a quirky but likable character and he mixes a fantastic drink. They have every kind of martini imagiinable there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Break open that wallet!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Yes, the food is good however the portion size for the amount you pay is in no way proportionate. You would think you were in LA or NY eating at Chef Gordon Ramsays restaurant with the prices on this menu. HUGE selection of martinis. Drinks again are good, made fairly strong but by the time you leave you could have installed an in ground pool in your back yard.Good to try once. Wouldn't do it again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks but really poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The four of us agreed dinner was very good. I had swordfish, which was perfectly cooked. My husband started with oysters that were fresh as could be. He and our friends all had the scallops, which they enjoyed. The bar serves great shaken drinks. The only hitch was really poor service. We had to seat ourselves after losing a window table we thought we'd reserved to a couple who were seated by a waitress. What is a waitress doing seating people??? We waited for 15 minutes. No one came to the table to ask if we wanted a second drink. Finally, our friend got up and went in search of someone who agreed to wait on us. We ordered a bottle of wine and dinner. Enjoyed all but Ember's owner needs to get out from behind the bar and make sure his customoers are being properly looked after.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember also viewed

 

Been to Ember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ember, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.