We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marlborough
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was terrible. I attended a one day conference here. What I found was filth and disorganization. The restroom floors were literally covered in feces, as were some of the stalls. the tableclothes on the tables were stained and the rooms smelled like mold. We had 15 minute coffee breaks but there were no cups provided and no employees around. The hallways were junked up with carts of supplies and things appeared incomplete or half set up. Our presenter almost fell off the stage when he tripped over wires that were not properly hidden. The employees were polite and friendly but scarce. Overall I would never step foot in here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I’m glad our staff was polite and friendly, but surprised to hear about the rest of your experience. I can assure you that what you have described is not up to our high standards. Rooms are cleaned regularly, linens washed, supplies restocked, everything is done to make your event stand out. Rest assured, your experience will not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
Respectfully,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    77
    78
    54
    33
See reviews for
71
34
18
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed several nights at this hotel as part of a tour package. Judging by the coaches in the car park overnight, there were several other groups also staying. The room was Okay -clean, but basic. The problem was the dining experience in both the 'sports bar' in the evening and the restaurant at breakfast time. The staff were clearly incapable of coping with the number of guests staying and there was no evidence of any restaurant management at all. Without doubt this was the worst level of service we have received anywhere during many years of travelling throughout the US. My advice if you stay here: find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant. It is possible, as you pointed out, that we were understaffed that night which resulted in longer wait times. I have taken note of your concerns as we continue to improve all aspects of our facilities.
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Internet quote was exceeded after the first night. Past experience was continental breakfast was included but not in this case and was quoted without explanation hence cost was excessive but later cancelled. Room was small but OK. Only one luggage rack when 2 could have been used. Chair worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We apologize for the misunderstanding. You can be assured of receiving the best experience/price and confidence in booking when you book at bestwestern.com as opposed to any third part site. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will come again.
Best wishes,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A four star Best Western hotel this certainly isn't. Two restaurants only one of which is open at any one time. The main restaurant, only open for breakfast, is understaffed, short on food and pretty poor all round. There was no sausages available at breakfast. No coffee, and although the staff tried their hardest they could not cope. The Sports Bar & Grill was no more than a pub bar with pub grub. The hotel suspended the hotel shuttle bus one evening because they had two tours in the evening. This hotel is by no means of four star standard, I'd be pushed to give it a two star rating. Very disappointing.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry you didn’t find your stay satisfactory. Hopefully you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the many amenities that our hotel offers in addition to two on-site restaurants. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is actually better than Best Western in Hagerstown, MD, the one we stayed a week before. It's bigger, nicer and cleaner. The fitness center is great, so is the pool. The fitness center has a good cool air running, unlike some of the fitness centers I went to during my trips. So hope they maintain the temperature the same at all time. My husband and I enjoyed our lunch and dinner at the restaurant, All Star Sports Bar & Grill. They served one of the best lobster roll and other seafood and fish dishes were delicious as well. If you can't find a place to eat around this neighborhood, just settle with this restaurant and you'll be fine. Free breakfast here is one of the best. Waiters/waitresses are all very good. The only thing I'd point out here is the waiting time to get the food. The wait was too long either with the crowd or without the crowd, lunch or dinner. The room is clean and a/c running well. If my husband decides to go back and do business here, we'll be staying at this hotel again. You'll enjoy your stay here *:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommendations. Our fitness center is always kept at the perfect temperature because nobody wants to exercise in a sauna. Making every aspect of your stay as comfortable as possible is our top priority. We’re glad you enjoyed it and hope you’ll come again soon!
Best wishes,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is equipped for these types of events, and everything went very well, from setup to take down.
The room was comfortable, certainly adequate for our stay. It has a nice bar and there is a restaurant in the hotel as well as many food options right along Boston Post Road.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for having your event with us! We go the extra mile to make sure everything runs smoothly and that it’s a memorable experience for our guests. Whatever the occasion, we look forward to having you again.
See you soon,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen cove, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very large hotel, showing its age. Low rates for the area, especially Internet rate. Got King bed room with breakfast for about $94 plus tax. Convenient to I495 and even Boston. Not always clean, but staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I’m glad you took advantage of our online rates. We feel that our age makes our hotel unique and gives it character. Upgrades are made as needed, but that classic feel will always be something we hold dear. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Address: 181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.