We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Storm Stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Marlborough
Drummond New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sandy Storm Stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were booked there thru the utility requesting help in power restoration during Sandy storm. all was paid for.This being said I would probably stay at this location if travelling with my wife if the price was right. I would definitely ask to see the room before check in because some rooms seemed to be in better shape than others. Service was good as was the daily brunches. This hotel had to deals with over hundreds of relief workers for a week and they did an excellent jod.Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad we could help out during the difficult time of Sandy. Thanks for praising our staff and service. Our hotel is large but are continually making upgrades around the property. We’re glad you had great service and look forward to the next time you can stay with us.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    85
    81
    57
    40
See reviews for
76
34
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been operating rare coin shows....Bay State Coin Show....47 years in Boston....for our 48th year we moved our coin show to Best Western in Marlboro...we have NEVER experienced the HIGH level of competence that we experienced here in Marlboro...the quality of service was better than anything we've experienced in 47 years at other locations...easily equal to a 5 star level like a FourSeasons and Ritz Carlton...the staff are not only doing a GREAT job ...they REALLY SINCERELY cared about all our needs....I highly recommend this great venue...rasonably priced...great location...near major airports and a staff second to none..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you had such a high level of service from our staff for your show at out hotel. Customer service is our number one priority and are glad that you experienced this and recommend our facilities. Thanks so much for your kind words and we very much look forward to hosting you again!
Thank you,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Terrible night. Heating unit make so much noise you have to turn it down if you want to sleep.
Room is clean but need some upgrade in the bathroom. Picture quality of TV was bad. Don't bother with the restaurant. Service at the bar was efficient but not friendly.
Will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 223
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We’re glad your room was clean and hopefully our staff was helpful during your stay. We would like the opportunity to have you experience a better stay with us. We hope you will visit again. If anything was left unresolved from your stay, let me know at jkerrigan@rplazahotels.com
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was here at a convention, and they have attempted to make some upgrades to the place since I last stayed there to their credit, but truly fall short. This time there was a refrigerator and a microwave in my room, which had to be brought into my room upon my request, which I was told by other guests they were running out of.
I was first given a room for handicapped people near the elevator which I had to fight to change and it took them 5 hours to do that.
I would have enjoyed the use of having a safe in my room, protecting my valuables, which this DID NOT.
The hallways and elevators are not air-conditioned, and the elevators were broken down more often than not, 2 out of 4 were down, making the stairs the viable option from the upper floors.
The breakfast buffet is barely adequate, Sterno tureen soggy bacon and eggs, at top dollar prices, and at the bar for dinner and lunch, ran out of food items from the menu, and I believe to be unreasonably over-priced.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all, I wouldn't recommend staying there, although not a luxury hotel, for my purposes, it suited what I needed to do just barely.

Room Tip: Stay nearby instead at a newer and better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you found the staff very friendly and accommodating as that is one of our highest priorities. We’re glad you noticed some of our upgrades since your last stay. We are a large property and are still making some upgrades in other areas of the hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while at our hotel. I’ve included your feedback to our staff meeting notes so that we can know how to better serve you in the future. We hope you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Found this late on a Saturday night while traveling. Room was adequate, clean and good bedding package. Would stay here again. Lots of activity in the surrounding mall area of the hotel. Breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a great review! We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a week, had a great stay.

The service was great! Fast and Friendly. We had a mini fridge and microwave brought up within 5 minutes of asking for it. If you miss housekeeping they leave notes for instructions if you need something.

Value is good, we booked online, so we got a 100+ dollar room for 65.

Sleep quality is good, bed was comfy, and it was actually quite!

Cleanliness was good.

The location is wonderful, infront of the hotel itself is a hannaford, dollar tree, sallys beauty, subway, boston market, bank of america, radio shack. and much much more. plus the highway is within half a mile.

The rooms were spacious enough. long hallway, queen bed, bureau, desk with chair.
Bathroom was large enough for three people to comfortably be in.

The heated pool is very nice, as well as the fitness center, and arcade!

Resturant inside is has good food. although the cheesecake was good had a weird taste like it was stored with something made with garlic?

There was a function going on downstairs almost everynight we stayed here.
Poker, senior citizen event, baby shower, something, which was nice. and you couldnt tell when you were in your room cause it was so quite.

Definitely will stay here in the future.

** Breakfast, you do have to pay for, and if booking it online, make sure you have it included for sure before booking. out reservation was for breakfast but once we got there they said it wasnt cause you cant get if unless specified online.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for staying with us and letting us know about your experience here. We are very glad to hear you had such an excellent stay. Customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities so we’re glad you had good interactions with our staff, as well as enjoying our many amenities and level of service. We look forward to hosting you again soon and appreciate your review of our hotel. Thanks for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of October 2012 as part of a coach tour of New England in the Fall. In Scotland we call these coach party hotels. The hotel was adequate for a very short stay but was very busy because of all the conventions taking place. This mean that breakfast was very busy and sometimes involved queuing for a table and replenishment of empty trays took a long time meaning you never actually got what you wanted. The staff appeared to be working hard but there was never enough of them around to ask for assistance.

All in all I would only every use this hotel as a stop-over but 3 nights was too long. Slightly jaded and in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ony use this hotel for a very short stay.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for staying with us during your recent New England tour! We appreciate your feedback from your stay and hope there will be another time for you to visit us so you can see the further improvements we continue to make to our hotel. We are a very large hotel but are upgrading parts of it continually. Thanks again!
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Address: 181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.