We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else but here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Summer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marblehead Summer House
Save
You added Marblehead Summer House to your Saves list
27 Front St, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else but here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Marblehead Summerhouse is the only place I stay when visiting the Marblehead area. It's quaint and historical, and the owner John is the most accommodating and nicest man. You really feel like you are back in time, which only makes your experience better! We always stay in "N-1" and enjoy the claw foot tub and quick access to downtown Marblehead. Would recommend it to everyone!!!!

To the other reviewer, it's obvious you were looking for a Hotel 6 or something, and you need some different glasses when reading hotel we pages. Get a life!

Room Tip: N-1 is great for a romantic room for a quick couple getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Marblehead Summer House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful and thoughtful review. I really appreciate the effort. I'll keep N-1 ready for you two and hope to see you again in the soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful visit to Marblehead and made all the more enjoyable by staying at the Marblehead Summer House. It was awesome and the hospitality was wonderful. Everything, I mean everything worth doing, was actually within walking distance in Marblehead. plus it was great place to take side trips to Maine and other places during our adventure. Walk to restaurants, parks, stores etc. and take 20 steps out the back gate to the top of he hill overlooking the harbor and I got some of the most spectacular sunrise photos I've ever gotten and I am a professional photographer. I would not think of going anywhere else when back in that area, even if my target destination was something else, I would stay at the Marblehead summer house.

Room Tip: All of them looked great to us, but we liked our access to the back yard so we could get to the near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Marblehead Summer House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful and thoughtful review. I really appreciate the effort. I'll keep the Lobster Pot ready for you and hope to see you again in the soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Unless you want an adventure in typical 1700's accommodation, don't come anywhere near this place. Firstly it is not a bed and breakfast: No breakfast. Secondly it is dark and depressing. There is no shower. The old bath tub is your only option.

We reserved two rooms. The reason for staying at this place is that it was the only place in Marblehead that would allow us to reserve a room for only the Saturday night. Now we understand why this is so.

Our first room was adjacent to the water pumps. When anyone in the house used their water, it sounded as if a freight train was in our room.

The lighting was totally inadequate.

When we knocked on the door of the person supposedly in charge on the second floor, we found that nobody was there. When we called the number listed on the door, we reached someone who said she was on her way to Cape Cod and we should call someone else. We did this and were told we should call the owner John, on a Carolina number. (??). We called John who sounded very pleasant and said we should simply change to a room across the hall. OK.

Based on our experiences, we decided to check the our second room for the Saturday night, before our second party arrived. It is odd to simply walk into a room without getting a key. The rooms have codes, which clearly are never changed, so once you use a code to enter a room, you could go at any time with the same code.

So... we entered our second room, which was a nice size with a kitchen. We found old dusty tea and coffee packets on the shelf. On opening the refrigerator, we discovered a lot of old food in takeaway boxes. Disgusting! Obviously the rooms are not cleaned properly. We called John and left a message. Eventually he called back and said that he was having issues with whomever cleans the room. Not our problem! This was around 10am. When we returned with our other party at 6pm the room had still not been cleaned properly.

We also discovered that many of the light bulbs did not work. We had to go to some of the other rooms to find light bulbs which worked and swap them over. Interesting that we could just walk into these rooms.

Added to all of this is the fact that this place is not inexpensive. My recommendation would be to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Marblehead Summer House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We did drop the ball on this one and are very sorry as I said on the phone when the guest called. It was entirely our fault that we did not check behind the new cleaning company, who I called immediately after I had been made aware of the problem with the cleaning. We just signed up with Yelp today and were surprised to be greeted by this review right after completing our registration, especially since I had done these folks a favor by accepting a one night reservation for some of their friends that were joining our guest during their two night stay. Like most places in Marblehead we too have a two night minimum, (as disclosed on our website), but occasionally we will help someone out with a one night arrangement, which our friends at the Chamber of Commerce are well aware of. This is generally a hassle and not very profitable, but we will do this at times mostly to help people out as there are no hotels in Marblehead. I was also surprised because when I spoke about the issues with our guest, who had made the arrangements for their two night stay, along with their friend's one night stay, he sounded happy to accept a $50 discount on his bill as a way of apologizing for our failure to see that the units had been cleaned to our standards, which would have included the fridge and other kitchen appliances.

Our live-in manager who usually does check behind the maids was off to a wedding on the cape by the time she got the call from our guest. This seemed lead to a BAD STAY. Fortunately, out of the 1,000+ guests we have had over the last 6 years we have only had 3 "bad stays" that I know of. But I do feel badly for each one, as it's no fun for our guest that is having problems at the time.

As for some of the other issues, most are plainly mentioned on our website, for instance on our 1st page: "We're not a B&B and do not serve breakfast, but there are 3 restaurants within a 4 minute walk that do! With the exception of the 3rd Floor Suite the baths do not have showers. They have the original long claw-foot soaking tubs with European shower wand faucets. So, enjoy the bath!"

The age of the house, approaching 300 years, is also prominently mentioned on our website. Rooms were small then especially by Texas standards and they had low ceilings to conserve heat during the New England winters. We have no "water pumps" so I don't know what our guests were hearing unless it was the furnace.

We do leave our unit doors unlock, or open, when units vacant. This is mentioned on the confirmation I email to each guest upon the completion of the booking process prior to their arrival; "Your door will be unlocked upon your arrival."

The door codes to our units are changed after our guest's departure.

I do feel sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and tried to accommodate and compensate you as best I could while you were with us, including giving you an additional room which we would have to pay another $80 to be bussed and the linens laundered. When we decided to try and keep the house reasonably authentic to its 1700's time period we knew that it wouldn't be everyone's, "cup of tea". We are truly sorry it didn't work out for you.

Sincerely,
John Maroney
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Marblehead is a beautiful place to discover on the East Coast. Marblehead Summerhouse house has the same charm as the city, historical and typical. John, the owner, is very friendly and easy going. The room that we had for a week was comfortable, clean and quiet. The Summerhouse is located very close to the sea, restaurants and shops. A must!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Marblehead Summer House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful and thoughtful review, both here and on Yelp. I really appreciate the effort. We enjoyed having you stay with us and it's great to hear you had a good time too. Hope to see you again in the soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

We had such a great stay. Everything is very old but very clean. It was like walking back in time. We loved the back yard and park! It was so nice to take morning coffee to the park and watch the whole harbor in the morning. What a view. It was also nice in the evening with a glass of wine! We loved being able to walk everywhere too. We were there 3 days and only used the car once! We plan to go back. It’s very peaceful and the people are great. They really make you feel welcome!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Marblehead Summer House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful and thoughtful review. I really appreciate the effort. We have enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again in the soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marblehead Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Summer House

Address: 27 Front St, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the Salem line and the Salem Historic Area, you'll be in the heart of Old Town Marblehead just 200 yards from the Boston Yacht Club, co-sponsor of the Halifax Race. Surrounded by houses built in the 1700’s and 1800’s it's one of the nicest parts of the old village. The house you’ll be staying in was built prior to 1717. We weren’t the USA then you know! Walk through the back gate onto Crocker Park and enjoy swimming off the park’s float, fishing off the rocks, viewing the harbor and its 5 yacht clubs or take in one of the many Marblehead cultural events which take place on the park during the year. During the week of July 4th Crocker Park is one of the centers of activity for the Marblehead Arts Festival. Each of our 5 units include a private full bath, some also include a kitchenette. We're not a B&B and do not serve breakfast, but there are 3 restaurants within a 4 minute walk that do! With the exception of the 3rd Floor Suite the baths do not have showers. They have the original long claw-foot soaking tubs with European shower wand faucets. So, enjoy the bath! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Summer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.